We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sterling”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Village
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“sterling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

This hotel is on the campus of Penn State University. it is, they said, run by the College of Hospitality and judging by the eager young faces, staffed by its students. In our view every single staffer we saw or dealt with should be awarded a PHD.

Walk through the front door into an elegantly appointed lobby with a fifteen foot Christmas tree and a roaring fire. Grab a shiny red apple. You'll like it.

Wake up hungry at three in the morning like my old friend did.
He went down to the lobby to ask for a little advice. The lady was happy to direct him to the closest all night diner, but. . she offered to make him some toast and coffee! They had a nice chat, he said.

The condition of the historic building is sterling. Nothing I saw, zero, zilch, nothing, was in need of repair. The University must have a graduate program. in hotel maintenance.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — I found not a single thing to complain about
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetesrLakeErieshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    209
    61
    20
    13
See reviews for
276
117
27
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stay here every year during a summer swim meet. We had the Very Important Lion rate, (have no idea how, they just offered) which included free breakfast. Definitely nice to relax in the lovely dining room and enjoy real food and proper service.

The Inn is great in the summer because you can walk downtown/around campus. At $4.00+ per gallon it was nice to know the car could remain parked at the Inn/in the carpark all day.

Our room was a good size . Had a small fridge, coffee machine. The room may have been renovated recently because there was a huge tub and 2 sinks . Really a must for anyone travelling with a teenage girl. We were on the back of the building which was very quiet. They are renovating the lobby so the front desk area is rather cramped right now.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank tohhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

This is a charming old hotel that is well-located on campus. It could use some refurbishment, but it is priced well for the value received. We stayed in a somewhat small king-bedded room with a very large bathroom -- jacuzzi, double sinks, over-sized shower. Everything in the room worked, including the coffee maker and hair dryer. I heard people say that almost every room is different as is common in older hotels.

Those people who like charm, value and location will want to stay here. People who want everything new and uniform will be disappointed. If you come, be sure to sample a Penn State ice cream drink at Whiskers.

Because parking is difficult at Penn State, it was nice staying at the inn and using the prompt shuttle service. They picked me up when I called, and it was very convenient.

If you are a golfer, there are 2 courses on campus. You can use the shuttle service to bring you back & forth.

If I am in the area again, I'll look into staying at this inn. I enjoy historic hotels with modern conveniences.

  • Liked — Large bathroom
  • Disliked — Small bedroom
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihopeihelped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed and the Inn for two nights-5/2 and 5/3-in conjunction with a reunion also held at the Inn. We found the hotel clean, well kept and staffed by pelasant helpful employees. We had a very large room-1106-which was just above the courtyard for the bar called Whiskers and were somewhat concerned about the possibilty of noise but the windows were thick and there was no problem. The beds ary very comfortable, the towels and linens soft, and the room was very very neat. One bonus was the full range of cable channels for late night relaxing. It seems many hotels these days limit the number of available channels, but the Inn had a wide range of choices. The morning local paper at your door in the morning was a nice touch. The front desk staff was very well trained and helpful and the large basket of fresh apples, always available, was a nice touch. It is hard to find parking available in the lot directly in front of the Inn but the large garage a short walk away was covenient. There is no problem with curbside parking while you unload. We did not eat at the restaurant nor order room service so we cannot comment on that amenity, but the meal we had at the Saturday night banquet was well done, especially considering they were serving 500 people. Good filet and crabcake combo. The restaurant does serve a pretty impressive looking Sunday a.m. buffet for $16.95. The center of campus is a short walk away and the Inn is located in a fairly quiet area of campus-away from the student dorms and in an area with graduate school buildings. Overall, a great weekend, relaxing, quiet at a well run hotel.

  • Liked — Pleasant relaxing surroundings
  • Disliked — A bit disorienting a layout
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
317 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

We stayed for two nights while visiting our daughters at Penn State. The on-campus location can't be beat. It gives parents a chance to see what the students do on campus and how they must get from building to building for classes.

Unfortunately, the hotel aspect comes up short. The property is very interesting, but its quadrangle layout often means a long walk to your room.

Housekeeping was an issue. Our room the first night had a thermostat that did not work. We were unable to get the temperature above 65 degrees. We advised the desk in the morning and after being unable to repair the problem, they gave us another room that was much larger and better furnished - I only wish that they had mentioned that it was a handicap room. While there was nothing wrong with it, my trousers had about six inches laying on the floor of the closet. When we first returned to the original room, our message light was lit, but no matter what I did, I could not pick up the message. I finally called the front desk and advised I could not retrieve the message and was told, "Of course not, you have to call us." So, what's the Message Waiting button for?

Both rooms were not as clean as I would like. Each was dusty and the carpets and floors were not thoroughly cleaned. Our second room had a doorlock that was missing a screw and I felt it did not close/lock properly. There is no place in the bathroom to hang bath towels and the practice is to lay them on the sink counter. This virtually eliminates any space for your toiletries.

The problems we encountered were especially troubling since this hotel is used for training hospitality students. Clearly, there is a lax attitude towards inspection and quality control.

This is a lovely old hotel and the location is great. With a concerted effort, this could be made into the showplace, grand hotel it deserves to be.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh area
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

We had the opportunity to stay at the Nittany Lion Inn during an open house weekend for Penn State. The inn is on the Historical Building Registry and we found it to be very well maintained. Every member of the staff that we encountered went out of their way to see that we taken care of during our stay. We ate one dinner at the inn. It was a buffet dinner and the food was delicious. If I had to pick one bad thing the worse I could say is that the beds were not up to par with some of the nicer beds that better hotels are furnishing their rooms with. Despite this I would stay here in the future.

  • Liked — A class act establishment in the middle of a hugh college campus
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Steeler_Pens_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

I had avoided the Nittany Lion for some time after my experience with a Brooklyn sized cockroach, however, I was convinced to try it again since several years elapsed. Although I didn't find cockroaches, I did find candy stuck in the rug near my bed, the TV reception was horrible, the WiFi didn't work and the ethernet was slower than dial up, there was a distinct musty almost B.O. smell in my room upon entry, etc... I won't give it a third chance! Although I will have to attend conferences there, I will stay somewhere else. I did leave a long although polite list of these concerns for the manager, however, I never received any aknowledgement of its receipt.

It is an attractive and unique hotel from the distance and competent upkeep and mangement could make it truly great, however, since this poor situation has been present for years I doubt if the interest to improve exists.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Value, Upkeep, overall poor and dated quality of room amenities
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WJB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#7 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 West Park Ave., State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing