We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State College Gem”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
central pa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“State College Gem”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night in April 2014. Choose a double canopy room with a sitting area. The room was really nice, with a very large bathroom and the sitting area was perfect. The room includes Keurig with coffee/tea, microwave, small fridge and WIFI. The best was the quality of the towels. It was such a pleasant surprise afer getting a shower to have such plush towels. And the feather pillows are a nice touch.
We stopped in at Whiskers and the bar staff was friendly and attentive.
The only downside was it got loud in the hallway in the morning when Housekeeping started their day. We could hear the staff talking from the hallway and that was disruptive so early in the morning.

Room Tip: We had an inside courtroom view room. I would prefer an outside view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drosiewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
What a great picture to paint of your experience! The Deluxe rooms with the canopy bedding are some of our favorites on property. Please know that we can certainly try to accommodate any location preferences on your future stays if you prefer to have a different view of the property - simply let our Reservations or Front Desk team members know and we will add the preference for you. Thank you for sharing your story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    215
    61
    20
    14
See reviews for
281
123
27
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

It has the looks and charm of an old fashioned establishment. Had many great modern amenities, including a k-cup coffee machine. Beds were a bit uncomfortable, and it was pretty expensive for no breakfast included.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mSv732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We always appreciate that our guests take the time to share their thoughts with others about their experience with us. We have have just begun replacing mattresses throughout the property and hope to give you an even better experience during another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Travelling to Penn State? This very traditional hotel must be first choice, because it is next to the colleges of Penn State and it is a very conveniant hotel, nice bar, nice patio and walking distance to the centre of State College with very nice restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms to the inner patio are very quiet and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was second time in the same hotel. The staff is friendly. The restaurants are withing walking distance across the Penn state University buildings. The main dinning restaurant buffet is less than what I experienced in the past. However, I like to stay again when I come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo2men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have stayed in The Nittany Lion Inn many times over past 30 years and have stayed in wide variety of rooms. All were different and VG to excellent. The Hotel gives everyone a warm welcome and efficient check-in. The lobby always have a basket of red delicious apples to welcome guests and in season an inviting fireplace. It is the only Hotel on campus and within walking distance of Art Museum, Rec Hall, Nittany Lion Shrine, Hub, Creamery, Stadium . and town as well and many other attractions. If you prefer they have a free van to take you and pick you up in town , airport, and some attractions(You'll want to tip the excellent personable drivers). Complimentary parking is available in front of Inn and in adjacent garage. Meals are available in the Inn's main dining room and appetizers ,salads ,soups (try their lobster bisque!) and sandwiches in Whiskers Lounge (also free freshly popped popcorn). The Inn has Garden patios ,Courtyards, and Verandas for people that enjoys outdoors. The landscaping and flowers are beautiful.
Free wireless internet. Prices vary a lot during the year. Most expensive football weekends and graduation. Many weekends and weekdays very reasonable. A Penn State Tradition since 1931.
Join Stash and get rewards.

Room Tip: The hotel is very spread out . Some people prefer to be near elevator. We prefer to walk the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We think you touched on a little bit of everything that we love! Thank you so much for sharing such a wonderful description of our property and service. I don't know that there are many compliments better than having had the opportunity to be a part of your memories for 30 years! We are thrilled to have become part of the Stash Hotel Rewards network to provide even more value to our guests and look forward to many more years of our relationship with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here with my son to visit Penn State. What a wonderful place to stay! Friendly staff, comfortable room, nice bathroom, charming historic hotel, and a great location for a visit to Penn State. Easy walk to campus and downtown restaurants (they offered the use of a free shuttle, which we didn't use). I got a great deal through Priceline which made this stay even better. Only suggestion for improvement is to update the bed coverings. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runningmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
208 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Many universities have a special signature hotel on campus that captures the essence of the campus. That's the Nittany Lion Inn. It's a place where future students and parents mingle in the lobby with alumni that have been coming back to campus for 5 decades. All with some form of PSU clothing or luggage. I stayed here a number of times over the last four years, the first on our "college" visit. This past weekend for a PSU event and four weeks before graduation. Every time has been special. The Hotel just looks fantastic and is well maintained. The staff is always smiling and eager to help. I don't believe I've ever touched the front door as there is always someone there to grab my bags if needed. The rooms are pretty nice. I would update the bedding and pillows, but that's really the only issue. They sport two great restaurants, one a pub and the other very traditional. Parking is very easy with a 30 second walk to one of the campus parking garages. It's a great place to start a walk of campus as it's a minute from the Nittany Lion shrine. If you're visiting campus for the first time, stay here. If you're back for your 50 year PSU reunion you already know where to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is long so if you're away from the main elevators it could be a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#7 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing