We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nittany Lion Inn”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We loved the charming decor, convenient location to the campus, good food and good service. We appreciated the apples in the lobby and the gardens surrounding the hotel . The decor in the public areas of the hotel and the bedrooms was well coordinated and relaxing. The parking was ample and convenient. The fitness centre was adequately equipped and was clean.
Ten of us had dinner in a private dining room. The food choices and the service were perfect for our occasion. We also enjoyed the buffet breakfasts. The staffs were accommodating when we lingered over our coffee.
We happened to be there during the art festival. The festival itself showed very high quality artists from as far away as New York City. It was lovely to be able walk on pretty pathways from the hotel through beautiful gardens on get to the show.
We were pleased with the wheelchair accessibility in our room, and in the public areas. The staff was helpful and willing to help if we needed it.
We certainly felt that we got good value for what we paid. The atmosphere of the Inn very well suited the gorgeous Penn State campus. We hope to return sometime.

Room Tip: Our wheelchair accessible room worked very well.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Nittany Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 795 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great ambience, incredible staff, good food, beautiful rooms. Came for a conference but would be just as happy to stay here with my husband for a get away. Loved it and will definitely stay again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is definitely worth staying at. While it is located on campus, the moment you walk into the front lobby, you feel as if you are on vacation away from everything. The rooms are clean, quaint, and the service is absolutely amazing! The free van shuttle service around school and downtown is an added plus, even if you have a car, because you don't have to worry about parking around school and other places.

Room Tip: Both times I have stayed in the hotel, I have found the rooms to be clean, quiet, etc. I did not fi...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennStateFan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Comfortable and located right next to the Penn State campus, this is the place to stay when in State College. A bit pricey on football weekends, but what isn't? Service in the Dining Room and in Whiskers Bar can be a bit uneven, particularly when crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the front entrance if late night noise bothers you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danversite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a conference held on site. Beautiful lobby and meeting rooms. Rooms are very comfortable and have nice colonial furniture. Food is excellent and nicely presented. Great choice for a stay or for your next meeting!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave TN Y Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We hope to continue developing a relationship with you...come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a top notch hotel located right on campus! Close by top everything you need.
There is plenty of staff day and night if you need help with any thing. The staff is very accomodating.

The rooms are clean and modern. The get a 10/10 for rooms in my book.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharrod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

I am so happy to hear that you were able to experience the excellent service we strive to give every day to every guest. Taking care of others and making them feel at home is something we are grateful to be able to do! Thank you for your kind words...we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in mAny State College hotels and this is by far the finest--amazing lobby with beautiful fireplace, great restaurant/bar/gift shop & super-close to campus & the lion shrine!

Beds are super-comfy & room service was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katehallrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

What great insight into your experience...thank you so much for sharing! We hope you got a great picture at the Shrine; a few more weeks and the leaves should be gorgeous...stop back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#8 of 26 in State College
1,320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#15 of 26 in State College
146 reviews
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#9 of 26 in State College
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
470 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $145 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing