We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat the Location”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't Beat the Location”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Comfortable and located right next to the Penn State campus, this is the place to stay when in State College. A bit pricey on football weekends, but what isn't? Service in the Dining Room and in Whiskers Bar can be a bit uneven, particularly when crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the front entrance if late night noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danversite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    219
    63
    21
    16
See reviews for
291
128
30
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a conference held on site. Beautiful lobby and meeting rooms. Rooms are very comfortable and have nice colonial furniture. Food is excellent and nicely presented. Great choice for a stay or for your next meeting!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave TN Y Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We hope to continue developing a relationship with you...come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a top notch hotel located right on campus! Close by top everything you need.
There is plenty of staff day and night if you need help with any thing. The staff is very accomodating.

The rooms are clean and modern. The get a 10/10 for rooms in my book.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharrod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you were able to experience the excellent service we strive to give every day to every guest. Taking care of others and making them feel at home is something we are grateful to be able to do! Thank you for your kind words...we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in mAny State College hotels and this is by far the finest--amazing lobby with beautiful fireplace, great restaurant/bar/gift shop & super-close to campus & the lion shrine!

Beds are super-comfy & room service was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katehallrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
What great insight into your experience...thank you so much for sharing! We hope you got a great picture at the Shrine; a few more weeks and the leaves should be gorgeous...stop back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE PA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Nittany Lion Inn over the years but never over a football weekend. This past week we were fortunate to experience the NLI over a football weekend.
The staff of the hotel is wonderful, helpful and friendly.We used the shuttle service to go over to the stadium and were delighted they provided shuttle survice back to the hotel until midnight.
The room was decorated nicely and was average size. I did find it lacked dresser space to put your clothes away.
I like a softer mattress and was thrilled that our mattress wasn't hard as a rock-no need for a memory foam topper. They also provided feather and foam pillows.
We also like to put our toiletries on the counter in the bathroom but the counter top was small and there was no room.
We did like the ample hot water, the shower head, the towels, and the magnifying mirror in the bathroom.
The room was quiet and the temperature was easy to adjust.
It would be nice to have a safe in the room. It might have been there in the closet but I didn't look too hard.
We'd stay at the Nittany Lion Inn again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. The Inn is truly a special place on home football weekends and we are thrilled to share that experience with our guests! We hope to see you for more events to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very nice stay at the lovely Nittany Lion Inn. We arrived early and was promptly checked-in. The front desk staff was very professional as well as the staff in both restaurants. Will definetly plan to stay at Nittany Lion Inn during a future visit.

Room Tip: The suites cost more but the extra space is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been come to the Nittany Lion Inn for the past several years now. It is your home away from home. The entire staff is tremendous. The rooms are great. It is the only hotel, when I travel, I get a restful nights sleep. The convenience Thanks for all that you do.


Thanks, Ron

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
You are so very welcome. Giving comfort and rest to those that travel is a privilege and we are thankful that you give us that opportunity. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#8 of 26 in State College
543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#15 of 26 in State College
106 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing