We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Class Act”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Always a Class Act”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay here for 2 nights for a conference. Stayed here several years ago and it is still the same; clean, well-run and classy. Had several meals at Whiskers, the Bar/Cafe of the Hotel. Great food and a lot of use of local/university ingredients; organic eggs, local beef, etc. Room was clean, comfortable and had all the essentials. Conference was actually at the Penn Stater Hotel and Conference Center, but since they are sister hotels, opted to stay here, in the middle of Penn State University. Free Shuttle Service provides local transportation. Penn State acutally owns and operates these facilities, so you know it will managed right!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburghparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the vote of confidence on our recently enhanced menu! We love all of the local and organic options and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you for next year's event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    222
    63
    21
    17
See reviews for
298
130
32
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

.We moved our son in to his apartment to begin his junior year and treated ourselves to a night at the Nittany Lion Inn! I just loved the charm of this historic inn. Large crown molding, pane glass windows that really go up and down and of course the Penn State theme all create the perfect ambiance for a great stay!
The only reason I could not rate this as "excellent" was due to the quality of the bedding. We had a king sized bed and one of the two pillows was literally a zipped pillow cover filled with chunks of foam. Very strange. Luckily, we found one spare feather pillow in the closet. The other bedding issue was the poor quality of the sheets. We have stayed in "lesser" hotels who's sheets are likely triple the thread count of the ones used on our bed. I would expect an inn of this caliper to use nothing but the best in bedding.
Despite this one issue, we will absolutely stay here again.We are hoping to be one of the lucky one's who are able to book rooms for graduation weekend in a couple of years!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocmom16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here prior to a campus tour/info session so we didn't have to drive the distance from Philadelphia in early morning hours. Our interest in Penn State was the Hotel/Restaurant Management program. We heard that interns often work there, although the hotel is independently operated.
The good- signage to location is good, room clean/spacious, service fine, parking good near, garage not too bad, room comfortable, dining - hotel dining room closed @ 9, but the 'pub' location open late, decor appears to be traditional/colonial in keeping w/ the venue - although it seems dated to us.
The "needs improvement" the waitstaff at the 'pub' was just slow slow slow and inattentive - she either didn't see us, or wished we weren't there... THANKFULLY, the bartender was on the ball - after we were passed by without a welcome the second time, he stepped up, welcomed us, provided menus and basically serviced our table. His service was excellent until the very end when he was jammed up with bar service - not a huge problem, just needed to go to bar to cash out our ticket...
For what we were seeking, it was just fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in July 2013. Observations: Excellent, well trained front desk staff, maids and drivers.

The vans were a blessing, saving us from drenching thunderstorms on two occasions and ferrying us to and from the airport. The Bar staff was also very helpful and cordial, although one evening should have stopped serving a table of rowdy patrons who had too much to drink.

Negatives: The restaurant staff was hopelessly poorly trained.
I ate Breakfast there 4 times, and never waited at the entry to be seated for less than 5 minutes, This despite the fact that there were numerous set and empty tables. On one occasion after approximately 4-5 min a chubby girl came out of the back with a glass of juice in her hand and sipped from it as she looked for a table for me. On another morning an older woman argued with a waiter about who's table to seat me at while standing right in front of me. There was obvious tension among the waiters and between the waiters and the managers.

Finally, the signs directing guests to their rooms were poorly designed. I followed the signs diligently for the first day as they led me around the hallway, but discovered on the second day that going the opposite way led me to room 2050 much more directly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to give us the opportunity to improve our service, as we are constantly striving to give each of our guests nothing less than an outstanding experience.
Our Management team is reviewing the information that you have provided on your experience in our restaurants and we do apologize for the unfortunate situations that you have described. Please know that we will use the feedback as a tool for improvement.
I do thank you for the kind words on many of our staff and services and hope to have the opportunity to give you an even better experience on your next visit to the State College area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Terrible TV and Wifi service. We were charged for movies we could not watch even if we wanted to - thats how bad it was. Internet service was just as bad slow slow slow. They said there was internet on the TV but we never got it it always had some message to many users or something.There was bugs everywhere ughh!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you may have had an unpleasant experience while you were our guest at the Inn. As it appears from your stay date that it has been almost a year since your visit, we would certainly like an opportunity to address any concerns that you may still have. We have made significant improvements in both the coverage and speed of our wireless service and are confident that we are able to support our guests' needs for complimentary WiFi access. At any time,if you have a discrepancy with your bill, we are happy to review and/or make adjustments as appropriate. If you have an outstanding issue to resolve, please email us at reservations@psu.edu and we will be happy to address it right away. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to assist you with any questions or concerns that you have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I came here because of a special package from Travel Zoo and were not disappointed. The Inn is on the edge of campus, with shuttle service into town. There is plenty of free parking, either in the lot out front or in the parking garage down the street.

We were upgraded to a spacious suite and loved the rooms. The front desk and other staff were friendly and courteous. Despite there being two wedding receptions on this Saturday, the place never felt crowded or noisy. (I am wondering what it is like on football weekends in the fall.) We had dinner in town so did not get to check out the dining room for that, but breakfast there (included in the package) was excellent. The fitness center was on the small side but at 8:15 a.m. on Sunday I had it all to myself.

We look forward to staying here on our next trip to State College.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I am so happy that you were able to enjoy the special package and to join us in Happy Valley! We have a lot of exciting times being in the heart of campus, but work very hard to ensure that everyone has a relaxing stay. We look forward to your next visit and an opportunity to get to know you even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The good: free wifi, decent array of restaurants, nice front desk staff, located on PSU campus. so-so: very tired decor, could use a revamp. bad: workout room is cramped, tiny and not fun to work out in, sports bar staff was quite inattentive, long walks in big hotel to get to room if you have disabilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreomau27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#6 of 26 in State College
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing