We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“July Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“July Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arrived this past Friday for a relative's wedding. The staff and hotel were truly amazing. Anything that we needed was addressed quickly and attentively. This was a special event and the entire staff was ensuring that the guests were happy.

The Appetizerscat Whiskers - crab cakes and egg rolls were really very good.

I'd like to go back for a football weekend.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    178
    50
    16
    10
See reviews for
218
101
23
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Everyone at the Nittany Lion Inn is obviously dedicated to ensuring that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. The employees are so friendly and accommodating. The rooms and grounds are beautiful and everywhere, from the front desk to the restaurant, is fantastic! Rooms are nice and quiet. The hotel is smoke-free, which is great and they provide many conveniences, such as free parking, in-room refrigerator and microwave, and free apples in the lobby.
I wish the HVAC system was a little more modern. In our room, the blowers were right above the beds. I woke up frequently during the night because the cold air was blowing on my face.

Room Tip: Many rooms have a nice view. Ask for what you want and they will accommodate you if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobedaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
What wonderful feedback - thank you! We truly do want everyone to enjoy their stays with us and are thrilled that you were able to do so. Many of our rooms have different configurations, so certainly let us know at any time if you experience discomfort and we will do our best to accommodate any needs that you may have. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you travel to Penn State or State College, you should def. stay at the Nittany Lion Inn. It is located on campus, but is a short walk to the downtown area of State College. The rooms are spacious and clean with free Wi-Fi. We recently went back to Penn State to visit the alma mater and stayed at the Nittany Lion Inn and had a very lovely visit. And I would recommend stopping by Whiskers for a drink since the downtown bars do not have quite the same allure as the college days many moons ago!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NoVATraveler703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We love hearing about our guests' experiences and I am so glad that you enjoyed your return to Penn State! We love being a part of so many wonderful memories - thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My son attended a football camp at Penn State so we wanted something on campus, so we chose the Nittany Lion Inn. What a gem! The Inn is located in the heart of the campus. The room rate was reasonable as was the price and quality of the buffet breakfast. Transportation is provided free of charge and the van drivers were incredibly helpful and courteous. Our flight from college station was cancelled so we needed to rent a car to drive to Philadelphia. The van driver drove us to two rental car companies (the first had no cars available) and waited each time to make sure a car was available. That’s service. The only negative was the front desk service. I found them less than responsive and a bit standoffish. All other service providers were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our team - we will certainly share them! We are so glad that you found value in your stay and hope that we will see you again during next season's camp, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stay at the Nittany Lion Inn annually for a conference. We are never disappointed in the service, cleanliness and food hospitality.
Pleasant surprise this year to see the first floor women's bathrooms beautifully redecorated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much not only for your loyalty to our property, but for taking the time to give others some insight into our property. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

am in this hotel for a meeting. Very nice setting. Room is clean, front desk is very helpful, Wi-FI is fast. You can have the hotel shuttle service, if don't have a rental car. Although getting to state college from west coast is not easy, this is the hotel you should check it out should you happen to visit this place in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleeper24hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hospitality goes a long way w/ us. The shuttle service is awesome. They'll even pick you up which is good after walking thru the campus. We never used it to bring us to the Inn but it was nice to know. We were there during heavy rain for 2 days. Heavy rain, snow or a very hot day I would want to use it for sure. It's also very close to downtown.

Towels are not thick and fluffy but that's ok. On the day you check out you can use their parking til midnight - AWESOME!

The chandelier is pretty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the3travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#8 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing