We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July Wedding”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arrived this past Friday for a relative's wedding. The staff and hotel were truly amazing. Anything that we needed was addressed quickly and attentively. This was a special event and the entire staff was ensuring that the guests were happy.

The Appetizerscat Whiskers - crab cakes and egg rolls were really very good.

I'd like to go back for a football weekend.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Nittany Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 795 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Everyone at the Nittany Lion Inn is obviously dedicated to ensuring that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. The employees are so friendly and accommodating. The rooms and grounds are beautiful and everywhere, from the front desk to the restaurant, is fantastic! Rooms are nice and quiet. The hotel is smoke-free, which is great and they provide many conveniences, such as free parking, in-room refrigerator and microwave, and free apples in the lobby.
I wish the HVAC system was a little more modern. In our room, the blowers were right above the beds. I woke up frequently during the night because the cold air was blowing on my face.

Room Tip: Many rooms have a nice view. Ask for what you want and they will accommodate you if they can.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobedaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

What wonderful feedback - thank you! We truly do want everyone to enjoy their stays with us and are thrilled that you were able to do so. Many of our rooms have different configurations, so certainly let us know at any time if you experience discomfort and we will do our best to accommodate any needs that you may have. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you travel to Penn State or State College, you should def. stay at the Nittany Lion Inn. It is located on campus, but is a short walk to the downtown area of State College. The rooms are spacious and clean with free Wi-Fi. We recently went back to Penn State to visit the alma mater and stayed at the Nittany Lion Inn and had a very lovely visit. And I would recommend stopping by Whiskers for a drink since the downtown bars do not have quite the same allure as the college days many moons ago!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NoVATraveler703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We love hearing about our guests' experiences and I am so glad that you enjoyed your return to Penn State! We love being a part of so many wonderful memories - thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My son attended a football camp at Penn State so we wanted something on campus, so we chose the Nittany Lion Inn. What a gem! The Inn is located in the heart of the campus. The room rate was reasonable as was the price and quality of the buffet breakfast. Transportation is provided free of charge and the van drivers were incredibly helpful and courteous. Our flight from college station was cancelled so we needed to rent a car to drive to Philadelphia. The van driver drove us to two rental car companies (the first had no cars available) and waited each time to make sure a car was available. That’s service. The only negative was the front desk service. I found them less than responsive and a bit standoffish. All other service providers were great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about our team - we will certainly share them! We are so glad that you found value in your stay and hope that we will see you again during next season's camp, if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stay at the Nittany Lion Inn annually for a conference. We are never disappointed in the service, cleanliness and food hospitality.
Pleasant surprise this year to see the first floor women's bathrooms beautifully redecorated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much not only for your loyalty to our property, but for taking the time to give others some insight into our property. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

am in this hotel for a meeting. Very nice setting. Room is clean, front desk is very helpful, Wi-FI is fast. You can have the hotel shuttle service, if don't have a rental car. Although getting to state college from west coast is not easy, this is the hotel you should check it out should you happen to visit this place in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleeper24hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hospitality goes a long way w/ us. The shuttle service is awesome. They'll even pick you up which is good after walking thru the campus. We never used it to bring us to the Inn but it was nice to know. We were there during heavy rain for 2 days. Heavy rain, snow or a very hot day I would want to use it for sure. It's also very close to downtown.

Towels are not thick and fluffy but that's ok. On the day you check out you can use their parking til midnight - AWESOME!

The chandelier is pretty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the3travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#14 of 26 in State College
152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#9 of 26 in State College
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
471 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $143 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing