We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of doormen, fantastic brunch but noisy rooms.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of doormen, fantastic brunch but noisy rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Elegant hotel with old charm. Superb Sunday brunch. Room was comfortable, nice view and great campus location, but our room on the 2 nd floor was close to the 2 story circular foyer and when guests came rambling in at 2 am, their voices echoed up and down the hallways. Had it not been for an event I was attending there the next day, I would have stayed elsewhere because it was expensive. The bed was hard and did not have a mattress cover, but rather a layer of batting on top of the mattress.

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper floor away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutriscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    206
    58
    18
    12
See reviews for
259
117
27
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coal Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Nittany Lion Inn on Penn State's Main Campus is always a treat. Was able to book a room at the last minute for the Ohio State Football weekend. PSU lost but our stay at the NLI was excellent. The Friday night Seafood Buffet is worth the high price you pay to stay here on a football weekend. The lobster bisque is consistently second to none. Whiskers bar is always enjoyable for a beer and sandwich. Good wi-fi connectivity. Rooms are always clean and well maintained. Free shuttle service to Beaver Stadium!

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor to avoid waiting for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garbakup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for the "thumbs-up" on the Lobster Bisque -- we agree that it is amazing!
We have added a new focus on our menus recently, and we are participating in a Grand Experiment in Local Food. From vegan and vegetarian options to fresh-cut, local pastas, we have some great new additions to our menu at Whiskers for the next time you visit. We hope to see you again this football season - if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed here many times. Very clean, food decent and best of all centrally located. I've been here for football games, arts festivals, and weekend visits. The hotel has a shuttle that loops the campus and will drop you off anywhere on the loop. For pick up, just call the number on the card they give you and bam, they come!! I try to stay there any time we visit Penn State.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for the great compliments! We try to take every opportunity to provide convenience to our guests and I am so glad that we have been able to give you great experiences during your stays with us. Thank you for building a relationship with us - we hope to see you for this year's Arts Festival as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in April. The room was quite large and the bathroom a sufficient size. The furnishings in the entire hotel or a bit dated in colonial style and not of the highest quality, but they are tasteful and generally comfortable. The water pressure in our shower was very weak and the amenities were not of a very high quality (but were adequate). They provided a USA Today outside your door each morning and they also have the Daily Collegian available every day. The hotel was quiet and the staff were very nice. The shuttle operators were very responsive and go out of their way to take you wherever you want to go. The fitness room is not very well equipped; it has 3 or 4 cardio machines (2 elipticals, 1 bike, and 1 treadmill I believe). It has a small universal machine and a set of dumbbells and 1 bench. We ate in the restaurant several times and the food was basic but not terribly imaginative. The location is of course very convenient, on campus.

I noted that the hotel had numerous meetings going on every day and it is clear that this is a big part of their business - hosting meetings for clubs in the area and for the university. Many of these appeared to be meetings for people local to the area, since the hotel has a lot of meeting rooms.

There are not a lot of hotel options in Penn State and the Nittany Lion Inn is of course the most convenient -- it is a solid place to stay but not a luxury experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback on our property. It is important to us to know what is important to our guests! We have started some enhancements to our guest rooms, including new bedding, sofa beds and lounge chairs and hope that your next stay with us will give you an even better experience. We do have varying amenities in room types, such as plush, terry robes in our Suites. Please be sure to check your email approximately 10 days prior to your arrivals with us to receive a link to indicate any preferences for your stay. You can select amenities for your room, pillow type preferences and more to create the experience that is best for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Nittany Lion Inn in numerous times and find it to be an excellent hotel. Excellent cleanliness, rooms, and restaurants on site. Located in State College so within walking distance of university and downtown locations. Free van service to various locations so not necessary to use your personal vehicle unless you want to do so. Absolutely my favorite place to stay in State College.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genie464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

For such an historic inn, this felt more like a Hampton Inn. This place is far from luxury or charming. The beds and pillows are among the most uncomfortable I've slept on at any hotel, inn or B&B.

The service at the front desk was a bit gruff and there was some awkwardness on their part checking in a gay couple. Not the most welcoming experience.

The best part about The Nittany Lion Inn is the location.

And seriously, must EVERYTHING be blue and white?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unterwegsbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to State College to celebrate Easter with our college student since she did not have time to come home. We had a deluxe double with a sitting room - plenty of room for the three of us. The hotel was clean and charming ... Seating areas throughout the Inn. We also went to the Easter Brunch that was spectacular.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin3257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#7 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 West Park Ave., State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing