We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had a great stay recently while attending a conference. All the staff were personable and helpful. Room service was excellent and quick. The room was a suite and immaculate, appointed nicely and roomy.
I think you get more for your money than at comparable inns elsewhere.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for letting others know about your experience and for allowing us to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    206
    57
    18
    12
See reviews for
256
117
27
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The gym has been the same since I graduated PSU over 10 years ago. This gym needs updates and has cardio machines out of order, missing and/or just plain old. Updates are needed desparately and am shocked it hasn't happened already. Everytime I think about how much I spend on a hotel room here and think of the quality of the gym it infuriates me!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck1waste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide your us with your thoughts on your experience with us at the Inn. I am so sorry to hear that we did not deliver the value that you were looking for during your stay!
We do have plans to continue to enhance our Fitness Center, including the arrival of a new treadmill this week. All overnight guests of the Nittany Lion Inn are also welcome to use the indoor lap pool at our sister property, The Penn Stater, and our Guest Services team can drive you across Park Avenue to the facility. We hope that your next stay provides you with an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've stayed at the inn many times in the last two years and every time it has been a positive experience. The place is a bit pricey but with a child on campus it's worth the extra dollars of parking the car for the weekend.

Also..Whiskers Pub has become my happy place...free popcorn and great beers on tap...After a long day of running around the campus it's a great place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us! We love giving our PSU Parents a great place to stay so close to their students. Please be sure to join our Facebook page to stay up to date on special offers and packages throughout the year to make your visits even more enjoyable! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I am a Penn State grad, and it is a treat to stay at the Nittany Lion Inn when visiting campus. Yes, there are less expensive places in town, but this is an outstanding property and a campus landmark. It is right next to the Lion Shrine, and next to Rec Hall, but it is secluded at the same time. So, you get the fun and convenience of staying on campus, but none of the noise you remember from your dorm. They offer a free shuttle so you don't need your car. But with such a beautiful campus, you should be walking anyway...especially if, like me, you can't stay away from the Creamery's Ice Cream. Every part of the campus is walkable from here, including the stadium.

I've stayed here several times and the staff is great...very polite and helpful. I was here while the hotel was being renovated, and that work is now done. The results are great. The lobby and common areas are very nicely appointed. I'm not sure if I was in the "new" or "old" section. The room was not large but was adequate and had both a coffee maker and a refrigerator. I had no problem with noise, but the clientele at this hotel is less likely to be partying in the hall at 2 AM anyway. We ate in the dining room on Friday and enjoyed the buffet. There was something for everyone and all of it was excellent.

My five-star rating is based on the fact that I think it is by far the most outstanding property in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentSleeper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! The Friday night Seafood Spectacular is one of our favorite dining events too! We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience, and hope that we will see you again soon. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to have you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
197 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My co-workers and I stayed during career fair week. The hotel was very accommodating to us. Nothing new to me -- I've stayed here many times over the years and always enjoyed it greatly. Fine facility, clean, safe, comfortable, spacious rooms. Great restaurant and nice lounge. Top-notch conference facilitieis. Ample free parking. Convenient shuttle. And on campus.

The two things that could use improvement:
(1) wifi signal is weak and needs to be boosted (though it is far better than it was 2-3 yrs ago)
(2) could use a safe in each room -- few area hotels offer an in-room safe, but it is common in 4-5 star hotels.

But, again, these are minor -- the Inn remains easily my top choice for staying in State College.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bveo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are so thankful for your continued loyalty to the Nittany Lion Inn and hope that we can continue to provide a welcoming place for you during your visits! While we are continuing to improve our complimentary WiFi signals, please be sure to let us know prior to your arrival that you will be accessing the network, and we can get you in the most appropriate room where the signal may be stronger.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay - we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Twice in the 2012 year we have booked standard rooms to visit our children. On both occasions on check-in we were told that only suites were available at a much higher rate. Their answer, "you stay in a suite, you pay for a suite." Due to their mismanagement since these reservations were made months in advance, the traveler gets rude response and inaction. Traveler beware. If this has happened to you, I advise a complaint to the Pennsylvania Attorney Generals office for investigation. Mr. Purdum is the manager of the hotel and the source of this problem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millertime4pats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns with your accommodations. We appreciate having the opportunity to address any disconnect that may exist between our guests and our desire to provide the best service.
After our discussions, we now understand that the selection of the suite in your online bookings was not your preference, and have noted your profile accordingly for a preference of a standard room. While many times we can accommodate a room type change at check-in, during periods of high demand and limited occupancy, we sometimes do not have additional room types available. We sincerely apologize that the room type configuration presented as an alternative was not acceptable, and hope that we now have a better understanding of your needs. In the future, we are always happy to assist you personally with any questions you may have about our room types, room features and amenities by calling our Reservations team directly at 1800-233-7505. We sincerely apologize for any frustration you may have experienced, but do hope that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
225 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We got a great rate last week at the Nittany Lion Inn, really surprising. Service was excellent as was the room. Very clean, comfortable, great bathroom. Only thing is that the mattress has seen better days and really should be replaced. We enjoyed sitting in the lobby and just watching the passing scene. Unfortunately, we learned of the free shuttle service just before we left....I think they only tell people about it if they ask directions. That is why I rated this great place at 4 stars.

We have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels over the years. The Nittany Lion Inn aspires to 5 star, but is just a little shy of that goal.

One other thing is that it is so large and spread out, that we had a hard time finding the shortest route to our room....even the shortest route was a long complicated trek. Advance directions at the desk would help but they just told us which direction to go.

We would certainly stay here again if we go back to State College. Location alone right on campus plus the old school atmosphere makes this the place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for something closer to the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiefromCrucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#7 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 West Park Ave., State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing