We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management engages in bait and switch tactics”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Management engages in bait and switch tactics”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Twice in the 2012 year we have booked standard rooms to visit our children. On both occasions on check-in we were told that only suites were available at a much higher rate. Their answer, "you stay in a suite, you pay for a suite." Due to their mismanagement since these reservations were made months in advance, the traveler gets rude response and inaction. Traveler beware. If this has happened to you, I advise a complaint to the Pennsylvania Attorney Generals office for investigation. Mr. Purdum is the manager of the hotel and the source of this problem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millertime4pats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns with your accommodations. We appreciate having the opportunity to address any disconnect that may exist between our guests and our desire to provide the best service.
After our discussions, we now understand that the selection of the suite in your online bookings was not your preference, and have noted your profile accordingly for a preference of a standard room. While many times we can accommodate a room type change at check-in, during periods of high demand and limited occupancy, we sometimes do not have additional room types available. We sincerely apologize that the room type configuration presented as an alternative was not acceptable, and hope that we now have a better understanding of your needs. In the future, we are always happy to assist you personally with any questions you may have about our room types, room features and amenities by calling our Reservations team directly at 1800-233-7505. We sincerely apologize for any frustration you may have experienced, but do hope that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    222
    63
    21
    17
See reviews for
297
130
32
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We got a great rate last week at the Nittany Lion Inn, really surprising. Service was excellent as was the room. Very clean, comfortable, great bathroom. Only thing is that the mattress has seen better days and really should be replaced. We enjoyed sitting in the lobby and just watching the passing scene. Unfortunately, we learned of the free shuttle service just before we left....I think they only tell people about it if they ask directions. That is why I rated this great place at 4 stars.

We have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels over the years. The Nittany Lion Inn aspires to 5 star, but is just a little shy of that goal.

One other thing is that it is so large and spread out, that we had a hard time finding the shortest route to our room....even the shortest route was a long complicated trek. Advance directions at the desk would help but they just told us which direction to go.

We would certainly stay here again if we go back to State College. Location alone right on campus plus the old school atmosphere makes this the place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for something closer to the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiefromCrucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

One step off the hotel property and you are on campus. I loved this hotel. An oasis with old world charm. While sitting in one of the courtyards outside of our room on the first floor I thought for a moment I could have been in France. A beautiful wrought iron gazebo and manicured gardens were a perfect setting for a morning coffee or an evening cocktail. My room was quiet, clean, and nicely furnished. The hotel provided free wifi, but there was no frig in my room. I had a delicious meal in Whiskers, one of the restaurants, and the bar was fun and friendly. I happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I liked my first floor room in the hallway of the fitness center. Beautiful view and a few steps awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffiePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there during a conference and really enjoyed the hotel and service. They have a shuttle that took me anywhere I wanted. Whiskers, one of the restaurants, served really good food (probably the best I had during my trip sadly). They had free WiFi throughout and free apples at the lobby. Staff were very nice. I have no complaints at all!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Gaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bheide
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a really nice hotel, well situated and nicely furnished rooms. The hotel is not to far away from the Penn State College, it's an easily walking distance. The service is very good, and all are very friendly, I can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: so far as I learned, all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjbBheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We love this place!

My wife and I have stayed here at least once a year for more than ten years and it has never disappointed us.  The staff does a great job of keeping it looking as if it were new, although the older section dates back to 1931.  We usually stay in the new section, but this time we got a room in the old section.  If you were not familiar with the Inn you wouldn't know the old section from the new.  The rooms in the old section are arranged differently and may be a bit smaller, but our room had a large Jacuzzi which we had never seen in the new section.  One thing about the old section is that you don't get instantly hot water but that is no biggie.  The Inn is on the edge of the campus and it is a easy walk to the main campus locations and downtown.  Remember that the Inn provides free and friendly rides to just about anywhere in town if you don't want to walk, and they will come and pick you up also.  Just ask at the front desk.  A nice touch is the lending library on the third and fourth floor.  If you visit Penn State this is the place to stay.

RGinTally

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here with two of our friends over the course of Ag Progress Days. When we arrived we realized there was no available parking for his F250 and it was too high for the garage so the bellmen assisted him with parking it in the lane, although they did make him try to fit the truck into the parking garage. We valeted it. The bellman were very helpful, as were the front desk. I was surprised when I had asked to purchase Excedrin for my fiance and the front desk told me I could find it in the gift shop, which was closed - and they would not open it for me to get it. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. My friends and I had not asked for adjoining rooms but we did get them and it was very nice to be accommodated without asking! The lobby did have beautiful flowers all over and I also did enjoy the fact that we were right on campus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for giving us such great feedback from your stay with us! I am truly glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that your fiance was a little under the weather! We do have many complimentary toiletries that we can provide if you forget them; unfortunately, for safety reasons we are not able to provide medication. We are always happy to help with a quick shuttle to a local pharmacy if the need would arise! Thank you again for staying with us - we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,292 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#8 of 26 in State College
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing