We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Newburgh, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!!”
Reviewed November 17, 2010

I have nothing bad to say!! Great stay! Great staff! Clean rooms! I was even allowed to check in early! Thank You!!!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank moonbeams23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    203
    70
    27
    11
See reviews for
261
78
42
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I travel to State College a few times a year for business. Until now, I've always stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn. I'd rate those rooms a bit nicer than this property but not dramatically so. The Hampton appears to be a bit older, though it's pretty well maintained. But really, you're in town for a reason and unlikely to spend enough time in the room to pay much attention to the difference.

Especially if I were paying the bill myself, I'd stay here every time; it is an excellent value. It's $30 cheaper than the HGI but the desk clerk, when she noticed that I was booked on a corporate rack rate, proactively asked whether I had a AAA membership and gave me that discount, so the difference was even greater. Though I'm expensing the cost, I really appreciated the gesture. The typical Hampton breakfast is also included and the breakfast attendants are very friendly and accomodating.

I'll spare you a lot of details on the property; Hilton does a great job with consistency of hotels under the Hampton flag and this was right in the expected range. My room's HVAC was a bit on the noisy side but, aside from that, no big surprises, positive or negative.

The Damon's adjacent to the property offers good casual food without needing to drive anywhere. I found that to be another nice convenience.

I won't hesitate to stay here again when I next return to the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillygwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

This hotel is a great choice when visiting Penn State. It's a very short trip to campus and downtown. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff is pleasant and efficient. The gym, albeit small, is nicely equipped. The complimentary breakfast included a good array of choices. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JavertPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sceclhx, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent visit to Happy Valley. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate your business and comments! Please let us know if we can be of service in the future.

Best regards,
Steven Morgan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folcroft, PA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The staff was very helpful. The room was comfortable, I had a king size bed with different pillows to pick from, soft or firm. They had complimentary breakfast and it was well stocked. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondiex46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I only stayed here for one night as I was picking my son up from working at Woodward for a few weeks. I really like this hotel. The staff was VERY helpful, polite, pleasant - it's nice to be treated like you're not a bother. Room was large, didn't use free internet, flat screen TV w/HBO, beds were comfy. The only thing I don't understand in hotels is why no fan in the bathroom? Possibly people will try to smoke? It just made the room a bit humid. LOVED the pool - it was so relaxing to be able to sit and read a book in the sun. When in State College, you HAVE to go to the Creamery for the ice cream - not a far drive at all. We did get kinda lost in the dark, but eventually made it "home." Next year, hopefully will get this hotel on Hotwire again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TZMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is my fourth stay at the Hampton Inn State College. The staff has always been very friendly and professional. The hotel is very clean and I am always comfortable to bring my family to this hotel. Although its a college town and I am way past my college days the hotel always has a comfortable environment - and guests always seem very considerate of noise and behavior. The property is just outside of the University so you cant really walk but its a very short drive. There is a restaraunt in the parking lot (Damons) and the stadium and campus are about a mile away.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelweeklyforwork2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel was very clean and nice looking. The continental breakfast had a good variety of choices. The only problem was the size of the rooms. It only had double beds and at times it was a little tight. The bathroom was very nice and the staff was helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andpetros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
551 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Property: Hampton Inn State College
Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing