We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good value. Friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
“Extremely good value. Friendly service.”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This is an excellent choice for State College. The free breakfast was awesome for being free. Clean cozy room. Quiet. Staff was very friendly. The manager Stefan was very understanding when I accidentally booked the wrong weekend. Will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylekiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    200
    68
    27
    11
See reviews for
254
78
42
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, PA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Could not find any complaints with this hotel. Although I only stayed for one night, front desk and breakfast staff were very friendly and professional. Coffee and Hot Chocolate were always available. Great free breakfast. Easy to connect free internet. Forgot toothpaste and toothbrush, complimentary replacement. Easy free parking. Clean room.Great shower with lots of hot water. LCD TV. Room provided as requested. Easiest review ever given because everything was sooo Right.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalsemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Although we only stayed one night, this hotel was nice, clean, and comfortable. Friendly staff, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate always available in the lobby, and a great breakfast. I would definitely book another night if I had the opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GymnastEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed here for a Penn State Game, its about a 15 minute walk to Beaver Stadium. It was right at the bottom of the entrance. We walked up, a little hilly at first, but then flattened out. It was a nice room, they were able to get us in with an early arrival, which was great. Hotel was clean, it was a good trip, would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNSTOWN, PA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I love Hampton Inn and hate to give any one of them below a 4 star but this hotel has some issues.
First the sign out front is covered by trees and can not be seen at all coming from downtown State College. It is on a very busy 4 lane highway and it would help if you could see the sign. The front desk staff is awesome and if I wouldn't have called them after I passed it I would have never found it.

I was originally very happy with the room but I stayed 3 nights and my opinion went down. When I walked in the room it was like an ice box. I checked the air conditioner and it was set at 56. What a waste of electricity. I had to turn the heat on just to warm up the room. Well the heat also served the purpose to try to dry out the carpet in front of the air/heat unit. It was wet. After the first night the entire rug was damp. And it didn't stop there. The bedding was damp and even my clothes became damp hanging in the closed. It was very humid and the air system at this hotel did nothing to control it.

Other than that the room was clean and nicely updated. Very few TV channels and not my favorites but ok. Internet was low at times and spotty but free. The cleaning staff was nice but didn't clean the tub each day. Hairs (mine thank goodness) were there the 2nd and 3rd days. Also the bathmat had not been moved off the side of the tub to allow them to clean it. I had folded it kind of weird and noticed it hadn't been moved.

The shampoo and conditioner were not restocked until the last day. I had originally booked for 3 people but my family didn't come. I would have been chasing down shampoo if they had.

The only restaurant within walking distance is Damen's right in the parking lot. The front desk recommended it and it was just ok. I did eat there 3 times because I didn't want to drive anywhere. The french onion soup is really good.

I didn't get to try the outside pool because of the weather so I can not comment on that.

Standard Hampton breakfast which is always good. It's nice to have a free breakfast included.

The hotel was packed because a group from a swimming competition was styaing there and it was close to the beginning of the semister at Penn State but the hotel did not feel crowded. The breakfast was kept stocked and the hot coffee flowing. Tables were cleaned in an instant and I always found a seat.

Overall I would stay here again and probably will next year for the same business function which is held at the Nittany Lion Inn and I choose not to stay there. Not sure what they can do about the rug and the dampness but they need to fix it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel was perfect. The rooms were clean and large. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. We stayed two nights and both mornings we had a great hot breakfast. My son loved the pool and everyone was very friendly. Location was great to many different things to do and places to eat. We will definetly stay there again and would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Normally dont stay at Hamptons, but everywhere sold out due to the Art Festival and some basketball camp/tournament going on.

Pros: Nice front desk people. Free breakfast and coffee bar. Gotta love free internet. The pool outside looked nice, but I didnt use it.

Cons: Not much really. Nothing special. It is very noisy due to all the kids running around for the camp. No flat screen (I guess Im a little snob).

I would stay here again if I had to.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
241 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
773 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#15 of 26 in State College
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Property: Hampton Inn State College
Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing