We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamptons are consistant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hamptons are consistantly above your average hotel. While not being a 4 star palace, you almost always get the feeling that you recieved a good value for your dollar. I stay in Hamptons whenever I travel, which is a fair amount, and I do so for the reasons stated above. Consistant in a hotel is a very good thing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanHIExp, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Robert L,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Hampton, we too believe in the consistency and trust that our brand brings to travelers such as yourself. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and I hope that we can see you again in State College.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 590 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hampton Inn was very clean and the staff were professional but pleasant. The Continental Breakfast was very delicious and fresh. Make sure you visit the Penn State Creamery during your visit. The fitness room was very small but the temperature was comfortably cool. Adding some free weights would be a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were at Penn State for our son's New Student Orientation at the University and needed a place for us to stay overnight as he stayed in the dorms. We were pleased with the room and location to the school.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great place to stay, Very clean! Breakfast is good great coffee. Pool area nice. Quiet. Close to area restaurants and stores. Very close to the hospital. Close to the College able to go walking after long road trip. Great staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This property is clean, beautifully and comfortably furnished . The staff was helpful , kind , courteous , friendly and extremely efficient and professional . The complimentary breakfasts ( enhanced , with hot items ) were really quite delicious , presented and prepared attractively . The bedding and mattresses as well as room and bath amenities were excellent. In future , I will opt for staying in Hampton Inns wherever possible .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank highlander44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived on the Saturday of the Memorial Day weekend without a reservation. Every other hotel in State College was booked with a teen sporting event going on. The hotel had only two rooms, a smoking room (we are non-smokers) and a small handicap accessible room. The staff showed us both rooms, we took the smoking room. Though there was a residual smoking odor, the staff ran an ionizer in the room while we left for dinner. It helped some, it wasn't too bad to stay. Just the extra effort the staff went to was super. The room faced the woods in the back, so we were pleased with that -- very private. We really enjoyed the cozy lobby that has a fireplace, TV, sofas, tables, etc., next to a free coffee and tea bar. We liked this hotel so much, we are returning again this weekend (only a week later).

Room Tip: Recommend the rooms facing the woods rather than the parking lot and main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT-233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

From the cordial friendly welcome of the front desk staff to the delicious hot breakfast the next morning, our one overnight stay was the best. We hooked easily to the WiFi and handled end of day business smoothly. It was a bit of a drive off of I-80, but well worth the extra miles.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#13 of 26 in State College
248 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range: $91 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing