We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay - Good Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Penn State
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    435
    161
    24
    9
See reviews for
513
117
62
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanticoke
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Need more luggage carriers...only two available...the mexican resturant has terrible food...no continental breakfast...other than tha it was real nice

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ryan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. We apologize that there were no luggage carriers available for your use. We do have four carriers available for our guests, however, unfortunately it does occur that a guest takes one into their room rather than returning it to the front lobby area. I have passed your comments regarding the restaurant over to the Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager. Mad Mex is independently owned and operated, but comments from our guests at the Days Inn are invaluable to helping them improve their operations. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

You cannot get a better location to stay than this Days Inn. It is convenient to downtown and the campus but far enough away to be quiet. You would not travel just to stay in this average hotel but it is a great choice if you are visiting Penn State. We did have a heavy smoke smell in our room. I called the front desk and within 3 minutes they found a new room for us that was much better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NextstopNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. Our location in the "Heart of Downtown" is truly second to none. Our guests are within a block of all that downtown has to offer, shopping, dining, entertainment and the PSU campus. I am glad to hear that our front desk staff reacted quickly to your concerns. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great hotel, that is centrally located in State College. Walking distance to Campus, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found our location in the "Heart of Downtown" an easy walk to all things PSU, dining, shopping and entertainment. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel was convenient and in walking distance to everything. The lobby is spacious and clean, the kids loved the pool. The hallways are clean and smell fresh as did the rooms. I think the rooms could use an update, same as the beds and air conditioning units. I wasn't upset because the price of the rooms was very reasonable and we weren't in them more than to sleep since it was a tournament weekend.

Room Tip: We were facing the garage so you could see your vehicles on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0lfngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State and for your wonderful comments. We are glad to hear that the kids enjoyed the pool. Our staff strives daily to provide a clean and comfortable hotel for our guests. We continously work on providing and updating our hotel and guest rooms with the most modern of amenities. We are currently installing LED bathroom mirros, which I must say are very cool. We hope you visit us again soon to see our latest updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Penn State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Penn State

Property: Days Inn Penn State
Address: 240 South Pugh Street, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in State College
#5 Romantic Hotel in State College
#8 Business Hotel in State College
#8 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Penn State 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2016 Days Inn brand Hotel of the Year. Our location, in the heart of downtown State College, allows for walking to all points on the Penn State campus, restaurants/bars and shopping. We offer free covered parking, free Wi-Fi service, an award winning restaurant, Mad Mex, beautiful atrium, oversized indoor pool, free lobby coffee 24hrs/day and free airport shuttle. The Days Inn Penn State offers absolutely everything one would need when visiting State College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Penn State reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing