We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 State College
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Its so easy to complain, but I was pleasantly surprised with this facility. Was it the best hotel I've stayed in - no, was it the worst - again, no. It was clean, comfortable, and the service was friendly, professional and knowledgeable. The room was older (with an electric stove and a hood above the burners (probably been there since the advent of a microwave) but the bathroom was appropriately updated, and the bed was adequate. This isn't a prime destination facility, but if you need a convenient, cost-effective place to stay in State College, its worth the cost.

Room Tip: Read the reviews with caution - its easier to whine than compliment
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your positive comments on your stay. We do take great pride to deliver a clean, comfortable, and friendly guest experience. It is always good to hear a job well done. Thank you. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 State College
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 791 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Constance B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I like this hotel but parking seemed to be a problem. If you got in too late, there was no parking. Lot should be numbered to the room number.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Please accept my apology that you had trouble finding a parking spot. This is actually a comment that I have not experienced. In addition to the parking areas located in the front and side of the hotel, we do have an entire back lot for parking. It is my hope that you will visit us again. Please contact me direct when booking your next stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family has been staying at the super 8 for over 25 years through different owners and names for the entire football season staying 2 nights. I have never complained about are stay but now I must request something. I have asked for two years now to have a tv replaced in the living room part of suite we stay in. We have not had any success. We are constantly told soon. Now the tv is not clear and at times it hardly makes sence to watch. I don't want to complain about the prices for football but at the charge like Michigan we should have a nice tv. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apples35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty. It means so much. We recently did a sweep in each guestroom and replaced a few inoperable tv’s. I am so sorry that your room was missed. We are in the process of ordering additional units so I will make sure your room is next on our list. Again, thank you for your continued support. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
85 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,322 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#11 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#12 of 26 in State College
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 State College

Address: 1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-6210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $67 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 State College 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 State College Hotel State College
Super Eight State College
State College Super 8
State College Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing