We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 State College
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good enough for a one night stay. Could be cleaner and could use more staffing. But nothing gross was encountered. Breakfast area can handle a crowd. We had a billing problem which the front desk could not reconcile until the 'manager came in on Monday'. That's pretty annoying!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing comments on your last stay. Regarding your comments on cleanliness and staffing, I immediately met with my housekeeping and front desk supervisors and more frequent room inspections will be made before renting rooms to our guests. The front desk team will be trained more thoroughly on how to handle billing issues. Our goal is to accommodate all guest requests in a timely and courteous manner. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. This type of feedback provides an opportunity for us to improve our daily service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 State College
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 791 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great value. Outdated with some items in need of renovation and repair but staff was extremely friendly, competent, and hotel was well kept. Great if you're looking for an economical choice that is clean and safe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your nice compliments. The staff takes great pride to deliver a positive guest experience. We are currently finalizing our renovation plan. The plans include new guestroom furniture and carpet. Again, thank you for you comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here as it was the cheapest motel we could find that was close to campus. We had no problem with bugs as the other reviewer did, but felt the carpets could use a good cleaning. It acutally looked like they were in the process of replacing it as the main floor carpeting was new and somewhat clean. The mattresses were good--they felt like they must have been pretty new. There were wierd brown spots on our ceiling--don't want to guess what they were. Cable stations were somewhat limited. Breakfast was just okay-what you expect. Front desk clerk was not too friendly--but not rude either. Overall , a little below average, but a good price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank bairwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

On our first night there, I had 8 large bites on each side of my back, and even more on my ankles and legs. That is when I had been sitting on the sofa that afternoon. Once, while standing close to the offending sofa, I stood up to fix something, I experienced a sharp pain on my leg. Looking down I found a small cockroach biting me in the leg, which I promptly removed and killed. From then on, I decided to avoid the sofa. Lo and behold, the bed was bug ridden, as well. The following morning and each morning thereafter, I had a new bites on me. The bites stopped occurring only after we left this hotel and moved to another location. The carpeting inside the room and in the hallway was not clean, not the kind that would easily be resolved by vacuuming alone. The breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallybean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
85 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,324 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State College
#22 of 26 in State College
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 State College

Address: 1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-6210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $67 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 State College 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 State College Hotel State College
Super Eight State College
State College Super 8
State College Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing