We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moms funeral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 State College
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in State College
blue rock,oh
2 reviews
“Moms funeral”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I would not ever stay there again. The first room we where in had roaches. they did move us. The second room the carpet was very dirty,The bathroom the corners had a lot of dirt in them. When our room was straightened up the next day they did not leave us in cups for the coffee.
The breakfast left a lot to desire When we booked the room it was one price. When we checked out it was another. We are to be reimbursed the price of one days stay. If You are thinking of staying there please do not. The elevator had a bad smell in it and the carpet was very dirty

Room Tip: go to another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Please accept my sincere apology that your stay was not satisfying. I have met with my team regarding the condition of your guestroom. The housekeeping supervisor will make more frequent room inspections to ensure a clean and comfortable room for our guests. Regarding your comments on roaches, we contacted our local pest control and had room inspections performed in your guestroom and surrounding rooms. This condition is an isolated case that was successfully addressed. Again, I apologize for your unpleasant experience. Please contact me personally to discuss your situation in more detail. Thank you. 814.237.8005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    196
    210
    96
    63
See reviews for
330
84
74
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STAFFORD
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a reasonable choice for an inexpensive place to stay for a brief visit to Penn State. It is located about a mile from campus. The room was good sized , if somewhat minimally furnished. It looks like it has been a while since the last renovation, things are getting a little thread bare around the edges. House keeping seems to do a good job, everything was neat and the rooms clean. The maintenance in the halls and elevators was not as good and they needed cleaning. All in all, I would rate it 2 1/2 stars, but a good choice for value conscious travelers. I will stay again if I am by myself. I wouldn't bring my more fastidious wife here, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing comments on your recent visit to Penn State. We are currently scheduled to begin our renovation process in the first quarter of next year. The plan includes new bedding, drapes and furniture for each guestroom. It is so nice hearing that your room was neat and clean. The housekeeping staff takes pride in delivering a clean and comfortable guestroom. Please accept my apology on the condition of the corridors and elevator landings. Due to the hotel being sold out, the commercial cleaning staff worked very diligently to maintain all public areas. We have decided to increase the number of employees in this department during the busy season. Again, thank you for your feedback. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This review is an annoying requirement of doing this survey. I do like your hotel. Your staff is excellent. Always helpful and akways pleasant. Check in and check out is efficient. You have a very friendly staff. The hotel could use updating. The rooms are clean but really could be cleaner. I stay because of the price, location and your fabulous staff. Regarding your breakfast, it sucks when compared to the Ramada Inn and comfort inns. You could do a much better job in that area. Offer home made waffles and scrambled eggs and sausage / bacon like many places do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing the comments on your stay. The staff does take great pride in delivering a clean, comfortable and pleasant guest experience. Regarding your comments on breakfast, Super 8 recently rolled out a new breakfast program standard that requires all Super 8 locations to provide the same breakfast experience. We will voice your opinion of the breakfast to the corporate level as they appreciate guest feedback as a basis for future changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State College
#16 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 State College

Property: Super 8 State College
Address: 1663 South Atherton St., State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 State College 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 State College Hotel State College
Super Eight State College
State College Super Eight
State College Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing