We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality at "the Aterton"”
Review of The Atherton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Atherton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2005

I recently stayed at the Atherton hotel in State college PA, and completey enjoyed the friendly staff, delicious food and clean rooms. A nice place in a cute town

3  Thank Twarkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Your review and your time and business are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 476 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2005

I stayed at the Hotel Atherton in State College, PA fpr 3 nights in early June. It's the best value in the Big 10. The posted rate on the door is $104...and, of course, we paid less, for a king-size bed. It's quirky. Some of the parts of the hotel public space have been renovated more recently than others.
But, I would defintely stay here again

2  Thank jon160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Your review and your time and business are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2005

Stayed one night at the Atherton on a visit to check out Penn State with our daughter. This is a slightly above average hotel. Asked for more towels as there were 4 in our party and they were brought up immediately. Heating/air conditioning unit was a little loud and the make up mirror was torn out of the bathroom wall. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mckinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Your review and your time and business are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bristol, CO
18
Reviewed November 21, 2004

I have been staying at the Atherton for about 12 years, but have encountered a continual degradation in service, cleanliness, and overall management of the hotel. The last three stays, rooms have been horribly cleaned and hotel management has systematically given me a "so what" attitude. I actually found someone's used underware in the room and the toilet had not been cleaned at all. Also, I needed to cancel a room but was an hour after the 24 hour deadline and was charged full price. Again, after contacting management, I was treated rudely and made to feel as if I was bothering them. They never bothered responding to e-mail or returning phone messages. I can't imagine what kind of business they think they're in - it's certainly not the "hospitality" business.

I was also the victim of the "bait and switch" routine they seem to pull with rooms. They charged my credit card months in advance for a non-smoking room and then gave me a smelly smoking room and were disinterested in considering a switch. I will never stay at the Atherton Hotel again and warn everyone else about the incompetent and rude management I have encountered.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Your business is appreciated. Our hotel is under new management at our front desk and we think you will enjoy the staff very much on your next visit. The entire property is non-smoking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Maryland
841
Reviewed March 14, 2004

You can't really beat the location -- you can walk almost anywhere you'd want to go, save perhaps the Bryce Jordan Center and Beaver Stadium. The hotel itself could use a little more regular maintenance.
There were water stains on the ceiling and wallpaper was starting to separate itself from the wall. Still, for the price we paid, this hotel was well worth it.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope you will stay with us again and enjoy a more pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2003

Common areas had badly worn, frayed carpet and needed to be cleaned or vacuumed. My non-smoking room smelled like cigarettes, my sheets had stains and crunchy substances on them (I can't adequately describe the state of the mattress pad that was revealed when the sheets were changed), and there was scum and hair in the bathtub. All of the staff were friendly and the location was convenient, but this was a dingy, dirty hotel.

2  Thank Naka97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 6, 2005

The Atherton underwent a multi million dollar renovation of all hotel rooms and common areas in the past 12 months. It looks fabulous and I invite you to come and see the wonderful changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Akron, Ohio
12
Reviewed October 26, 2003

I travel quite frequently and I always look forward to my refreshing stop in State College and Penn State University. On my last visit I found the coolest hotel nestled at the end of town. The Atherton Hotel reminds you of one of the boutique hotels' you'd find in San Francisco.
It has a European feel to it and the service is impeccable. The personalized service I received there was comparable to some of the finest hotels in the country. After a week there I truly felt that I was a part of the Atherton family. The restaurant was fabulous. I had the best steak I've ever eaten there. Keep up the good work!!! I highly recommend this great full service hotel in a world full of budget and limited service places that don't give a d--.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Your compliments are truly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.5 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#11 of 26 in State College
193 reviews
2.9 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
305 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atherton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atherton Hotel

Address: 125 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-3827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $77 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atherton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
150 room full service hotel in the heart of downtown State College, PA. One block from Penn State University. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, restaurant, bar, room service, excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atherton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherton Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing