We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a conference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Atherton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Atherton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in State College
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a conference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This week-end for our conference was perfect due to the planning by our conference contact - Steven - and his staff. The food selections he helped us co-ordinate were wonderful and so was the food itself. The chef and staff should be commended. The servers and conference room contact people were always available and so very courteous. The front desk was very helpful. We had a few changes to make and everyone was able to accommodate these changes to make them happen and did so graciously. Steven made several personal contacts during our conference to be sure everything was running smoothly. Everyone was polished from head to toe. We now call The Atherton our conference home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ember231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your insight and for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your comments and business are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    138
    71
    38
    30
See reviews for
134
67
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northville, MI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Oh, Atherton Hotel! What happened to you?
We paid $460/night recently when we went there for a football game. The Hotel is dated, but that can be overlooked if everything else is perfect...which it was not. In our party, one room was dirty with candy wrappers etc on the floor around the bed. another never got shampoo or soap and had no water in the toilet--had to fill it in order to flush it. the beds...well, let's just say, the beds need to be replaced (hint: buy the ones that the Westins have). Overall, like I said the Hotel is dated and needs some maintenance and upgrades. We also had issues with super slow and somewhat incompetent bartenders, and wildly inappropriate wait staff at the bar. I am pretty sure Karen will take care of that, though.
If other people are anything like us, they were driving around to see if the Nittany Lion Inn or Penn Stater might be better choices next time. For the price you pay, I do not feel you get anything close to your money's worth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winsumwzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your time and insight. Your comments and insight are appreciated and valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Edward and Maggie did their best to help on my last minute trip... the best customer service I've seen... very attempted and king staff.. they provide a 5 star customer service!
I travel a lot been in hotel more the 100 times during the year for business and I can say is a "customer service" I give them a 10
Now is a hotel "the Lobby" is very welcome the only bad things is the property is on urgent need of an update.in the rooms (I've been there 4 times) they are all old and bad condition only good thing on room was the plasma tv..., way too much light in the room making unable to sleep when the sun rises early morning or if you're on need to sleep during the day... toiletries, curtains, linens are on terrible and cheap conditions and I have seen more qualities even on motels...
The hotel has potential for to be the best on the area..., Great Location and Amazing Staff, we can see they expended a lot in the lobby and forgot to make what really matters a comfortable, nice looking, well functioning and update air conditioning, quality toiletries etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOUSAtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please know that we share all comments with management and staff and we are listening! We appreciate your insight and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Atherton Hotel is an older hotel but it was nice. The food at the bar was very good. Sandwiches were big. We visited a niece who went to Penn State and having a separate living room was nice for us to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandDi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and compliments. We appreciate our guests' insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our recent stay at The Atherton was not our first, in fact, it's our preferred hotel when visiting State College for PSU football weekends. It has a great location and really everything you might need during a hotel stay.

The front desk staff was very accomodating and tried to re-arrange our room to have better wi-fi capability. We ended up keeping our room, but the effort and customer service surrounding the move was outstanding.

If I could offer a few suggestions, be sure the visit the lobby level. It's really pretty and easy to bypass with the way the elevator is set up. The hotel rooms themselves could use a little updating in terms of the bedding and overall decor, but beds were comfortable, room was clean, and that's most important.

You can't go wrong at The Atherton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dewhee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We sincerely appreciate your patronage of The Atherton Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
310 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here to attend a conference at Penn State. The location is excellent, just next to the campus, but the place is old, the air conditioning only worked if you pushed as hard as you could on the button in the old window unit, and then when it was on it was very noisy. There were rust stains in the bathroom. The wi-fi did not work in my room at the end of the corridor. When I called about it, they said that the hotel was full and there were too many users. This is a very lame excuse. I suspect the signal was not strong enough to even get that far, as they have too few antennas. I finally had to go down to the lobby to use wi-fi - very inconvenient. Only stay here if you have no alternatives. I only stayed here as it was booked by my hosts because the Nitanny Lion Inn was full. Stay there if you can.

Room Tip: Not at the far end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorld4Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. If we know of an issue during your stay we will absolutely do everything we can to rectify the issue to your satisfaction during your stay. Please consider contacting me so that we can make the appropriate resolution a reality. I will welcome your call or email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I wanted to get away for the weekend (labor day) since it was not a game weekend and we wanted to stay away from the holiday crowds state college was ideal.
The Atherton hasn't changed much in 30 years ...thankfully.
Clean large rooms, superb location for walking the town and campus and spot on staff make it a favorite.
Keep in mind this is not a new hotel and there may be a bit of peeling paper in the corners but the sense of solid "old school" comfort permeates throughout. ( love the little things like a mechanical bell announcing each floor in the elevators), a baby grand in the lobby...
The windows are old. Not close to sound proof and some partiers could be heard in the alley... But hey, it's a college town.
We'll happily continue our visits to the Atherton.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments and comments. We appreciate your business and your willingness to share your review. All guest comments are shared with our staff as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atherton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atherton Hotel

Property: The Atherton Hotel
Address: 125 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-3827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atherton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
150 room full service hotel in the heart of downtown State College, PA. One block from Penn State University. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, restaurant, bar, room service, excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Atherton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherton Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing