We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn State College(State College)(Great Value!)
$152
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(State College)(Great Value!)
$71
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites(State College)(Great Value!)
$98
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn State College(State College)(Great Value!)
$119
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
$101
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
$89
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nittany Lion Inn(State College)
$269
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toftrees Golf Resort(State College)(Great Value!)
$84
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
196
156
75
38
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
156
75
38
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtarragon restaurantpenn stateparking garagean older hotelfront desk staffin townbit dateddowntown areabeds were comfortablenice roomcollege visitmini fridgeshuttle servicestaff was friendlymy sonhappy valley
Filter
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 495 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent the night after dropping my son and his friends off for the start of the spring semester. It is one of the nicer places to stay in State College and the location is perfect, like others have said. We were greeted by a friendly checkin person. Underground parking was great. Our room was on level three and to be honest, we could hear a lot of noise from the street on a quiet Sunday night. In addition, the walls are very thin and we were awoken by the return of people in the next room at 1:30 a.m.; they were not talking loudly, it's just the way the place is built and the way the rooms are configured. I imagine it would be really loud if the place was packed. I'd also say that the mattress in our room was ready to be replaced. On a quiet Sunday night, however, we got a great value and were happy we stayed at The Atherton.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor to avoid street noise.
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PhiladelphiaJHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Thank you for choosing The Atherton Hotel and for sharing your insight and review. Please know that we are in the process of replacing all the mattresses at the hotel and this project will be completed by August 2015. I am sorry to know that the room that you were assigned did not meet your expectations in this regard, but am very pleased to know that you enjoyed so many other aspects of the hotel.

Best Regards,

Maggie Biddle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The rooms are nice sized and seem clean. The rooms are plenty warm ( had to turn back the heat a bunch ). We had a party in the main ball room and stayed there so we wouldn't have to drive home. Beds were comfortable and the sheets were soft. Free parking in the lot under the hotel that is very convenient. Three elevators seem to be enough to handle all the traffic nicely.
Friendly counter workers that seem a bit over worked. There was only one person at the desk when we checked in and when we checked out. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are kinda far from the elevators. Might ask for a room close to them.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. It is our great pleasure to know that you found the hotel to be a good value. If I can ever be of assistance to you during future visits to State College I hope you will feel welcome to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend stay this December at the Atherton Hotel. Our suite was clean and spacious. There is ample parking under the hotel in a safe and secure garage and the downtown location of the hotel can't be beat! We got to shop and check out the bars and restaurants with out the hassle of parking a car. Everything is within walking distance.
The staff was also very pleasant and knowledgable of all the things there are to do downtown and within the State College area. We had a couple of beers at the hotel bar and the service was great. Unfortunately our short stay didn't allow us to try the food in the hotel's restaurant.
Oh, the Christmas decorations were beautiful! Very festive and whimsical! I would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Thank you for choosing The Atherton Hotel and for sharing your insight and review.

I'm very pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel's location and the convenience of our on-site covered parking.

If I can ever be of assistance to you in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at mpb@athertonhotel.net.

Best Regards,

Maggie Biddle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had our wedding there in Sept 2012. Everything was fantastic. The banquet manager Jessica Cox was very experienced and wonderful. She made everything happened for us and gave us a great wedding. We had our wedding in football season and the hotel was very full. However, she managed to accommodate all our needs. All the guests had a good time and couldn't stop telling us how great the wedding was.
All the staff at the hotel was very professional and friendly.
The honeymoon suite was very cute and cozy. We are definitely coming back for our anniversaries. The regular rooms for the family are all clean and comfortable. The most important, the location is great. With very short distance we can walk to anywhere in downtown with our family and friends.
Thanks for the wonderful experience. We had a great wedding at the Atherton and good staying.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Your compliments and kind words are truly appreciated. Thank you for choosing The Atherton Hotel and for sharing your insight and review.

If I can ever be of assistance to you in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at mpb@athertonhotel.net.

Best Regards,

Maggie Biddle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This location was centrally located for our statewide conference. An affordable location that was clean and comfortable. Easy to walk into town for dinner or drinks. Hotel/Conference staff were wonderful to work with and were very amenable to our requests...it made planning the conference a breeze.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Thank you for choosing The Atherton Hotel and for sharing your insight and review.

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the Conference that you attended here. It's our great pleasure to have served you well. Thank you for your compliments.

If I can ever be of assistance to you in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at mpb@athertonhotel.net.

Best Regards,

Maggie Biddle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews