We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
210
164
79
38
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
164
79
38
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location tarragon restaurant street level penn state in town an older hotel bit dated beds were comfortable nice room college visit staff was friendly happy valley rumours downtown lobby campus garage
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 521 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is average. Nothing great, nothing horrible. Needs some updating, but a fair price for the room and services. Staff was helpful and polite. Overall, as long as you realize what you're getting, you will have a nice, average stay.

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank LittleItalianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for your review. We hope that next time you will try our award winning Tarragon Restaurant, or take advantage of the hotel's complimentary use of the area's best fitness facilities and Penn State's natatorium. If I can ever be of service to you in the future, I hope you won't hesitate to call upon me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

i stay in a number of motels and hotels around Pa as my job is training police officers around the state. i have stayed at this hotel in the past as well as this week.

large rooms, yes it is an older hotel, but i found the rooms and training rooms to be claen. staff was very helpful in getting us set up. off road parking in a garge. food was good and price was fair.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deputychief408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your patronage of the hotel and for letting others know the aspects of your group's stay that stood out to you. Please come back soon and often. If there's ever anything that I can do to assist you during future visits to State College, I hope you will not hesitate to call upon me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a reservation for a year in advance for Graduation 2012. The day before our stay they called and left a message that they were moving our reservation to another cheap hotel down the road. They had our $750 for a year for a 2 night stay. They tried to put us in a smoking room at the other hotel. We were traveling with an 88 year old Grandmother with allergies. They gave us no explanation why our reservations were cancelled. We were the first people to reserve for that weekend. We were at their front desk the 1st day reservations were made and they still cancelled our reservation.

Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Although we regret that we were unable to provide a room at the hotel and know that was disappointing, we were glad to be able to extend a full refund in addition to paying for your room at another hotel so that you were able to stay for the weekend in State College absolutely free of room charges! We extend our most sincere apologies that our hotel was not able to accommodate your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while attending a recent weekend conference on campus. We had two guestrooms and booked two months in advance. Paid about $105 per room per night.

The lobby looks pretty nice and elegant given where the hotel was located.

The guestrooms were nothing special but they were not totally filthy either. The mattress seemed to lack support and the housekeeper never tucked the sheets under the matress, not even at the foot of the bed. There did not appear to be a mattress pad underneath the bottom sheet either. There was a flat panel LCD TV in the room that worked fine.

The bathroom was large and there were enough towels, but the floor of the bathroom had not been wet mopped in several days or weeks as evidenced by the brown dirt imbedded on the tile floor.

The front desk staff were mostly pleasant but not the most proficient and they recoded our demagnetized room key for us when it stopped working. BUT THEY FAILED TO CHECK ID; THEY ONLY ASKED WHAT OUR ROOM NUMBER WAS. THIS IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY AND SECURITY VIOLATION. WHEN I POINTED IT OUT TO THE CLERK, HE DID NOT SEEMED CONCERNED NOR TO CARE. So be forwarned, if safety is important to you, this may not be the best place to stay.

We were charged $7/night for parking. We were also charged $2/night per room as a "booking fee" on your room bill. Never heard of such a charge, expecially since we booked through the Atherton Hotel's own web site. When I asked about this "booking fee" at checkout I was told it was a standard fee that was was already figured into the rate quoted to us when we made the reservation. So why bother to list it on the bill then??????

This hotel needs to get a grip on reality. Based upon my personal observations, and the comments posted by previous guests, it appears that this hotel or its management does not care what people think or say. The hotel and its staff just do whatever the heck it feels like and the guests can take it or find accomodations elsewhere. The hotel managers know they have a great location and the availability of quality lodging accomodations within decent walking distance of downtown is very limited. So be prepared to decide what is important to you when picking a hotel to stay at in State College.

Room tip: Book well in advance and take your chances. It is a crap shoot!
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank revpar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Thank you for your comments. The Atherton Hotel takes customer security seriously and we do not give out keys to guest rooms without requiring identification. We are happy you liked our downtown location and want you to love the hotel as much as thousands of other fans do! If you feel that your stay was not satisfactory for any reason, we are happy to provide a complimentary stay on another date. Please contact me directly for details. Your insight and feedback are highly important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location next to the campus. I had stayed here several times before and was familiar with the hotel, including some of its shortcomings. We enjoyed our stay, and I'd stay here again because of location. Breakfast was very mediocre. Coffee was watered down concentrate. Maple syrup, noted on the menu, did not seem to have ever seen a maple tree. There are lots of good breakfast and dinner places nearby. Try Zola's for dinner.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank compost4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

I will pass your comments along to our chef and am sorry to hear that the maple syrup was not your favorite. We are glad to know that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay. Your insight is important to us. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews