We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Kimchi Korean Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 240 Restaurants in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
McVeytown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was only my second time eating Korean food. The menu did not offer enough combo meals for folks such as me who may be trying things for the first time. Service was not good and server was a little rude. Food was not great! It was much better at another place that I tried first.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Korean food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

State College's restaurants do a good job of catering to their large Asian population and this is an excellent choice for Korean food. I'm not an expert on this particular cuisine, but it strikes me as being quite authentic. The menu offers a great variety (with pictures for those who are unfamiliar) and the service is friendly and efficient. Every meal comes with an array of "little bites" that are delightful and the food is fresh, hot and unapologetically spicy. You can also BYOB.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank partera_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The exterior of the building doesn't look like much, but once inside you will find very friendly service and delicious food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ytravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in State College.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We've been eating here every week since it opened, about 10 years. The food is all terrific, fresh, flavorful, everything is good. Top favorites are the dumplings, grilled meats, and all the many kinds of spicy soup and dolsot. Low key, homestyle atmosphere, so relaxing. Great place to bring kids, they are very accommodating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordito100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Kimchi's is a pleasant, unpretentious restaurant which serves good food. As a vegetarian, it offered me an interesting range of dishes which were all cooked beautifully. I recommend the restaurant for groups of friends and family as it has a noisy, happy vibe.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank judeteachwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimchi Korean Restaurant also viewed

 
State College, PA
 
 

Been to Kimchi Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing