We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Penn State Campus, but away from the crowds!”
Review of Carnegie Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carnegie Inn & Spa
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Park like setting not far from the Penn State Campus, this inn provides serenity and convenience. The room I had was a generous size with a queen bed, settee, and chair. The wallpaper in the rooms is pretty "busy" so if that is not your thing, you may not like the rooms.The lobby and sitting areas throughout the first floor provide areas for groups to gather and relax together.
The dining room provides wonderful food in an intimate setting. The breakfast, which is included, was cooked to order, just the right portion, and delicious. The servers were accommodating.
Would stay there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kooka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don H, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for your response. We try and provide the best possible accomodations and cuisine that we can so that we can meet our guests needs and wants. Please feel free to contact me directly if there is any service that we can provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Carnegie Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 209 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

My new favorite place to stay in State College! We stayed April 4-April 7 for sorority parent weekend. The hotel is clean, very well decorated and maintained. It feels like a quaint bed and breakfast. Our room which was a regular king was spacious and included a couch and chair. Only complaint would be shower was very small and awkward. Also there was no vanity in the bathroom so not as comfortable for a woman getting ready. The room comes with free breakfast. The weekend breakfast buffet was outstanding. Delicious baked goods, eggs, bacon etc. During the week there is no buffet so you only get to choose from the menu. So be sure to include a weekend morning. Will definitely return in the fall!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southfla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you kindly for the remarks concerning your stay with us. We greatly appreciate them as we use them to continually improve our services and offerings. If there is anything we can ever do, please do let us know.
We look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our suite was beautiful and very low price at the last week of December. The room was very clean,people friendly. They had a free breakfast made to order that was excellent. I would go back again. Also the room was very quite and spacious.

Room Tip: For the price, get the suite over a regular room.The price was only about $20.00 more than a regular...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are extremely delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I have to agree that the breakfast is a wonderful, unique offering that separates us from other hotels. It is always great coming in in the morning and smelling the breakfast treats being made. And of course a great cup of Ethiopian coffee freshly ground. A great way to wake up!
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This facility is absolutely in the top 10 of places to stay in PA!! This building looks like it was built about a year ago...but we were told they build it almost 20 yrs ago!!! The facility is super clean and the staff are out of this world!! The food quality is fabulous from the first chocolate chip cookie at check in to the last breakfast before departure. Every request we had were handled immediately, professionally and with utmost courteousness. I asked for location of ice and was told "I''m on my way with it now Sir". In less than five minutes a young man was at our door with a large bag of ice!! When asked for idea on restaurants excluding the hotels (ate there the previous night and wanted something new) he was right on the money! He suggested Ottos brewhouse right down the road on Atherton.
We had initially requested a late departure on Sunday and there was no argument; just a comment of "whatever we can do to be of assistance Sir". Every hotel/Inn owner/employee should spend a week at this facility to learn what "PERFECTION" is!!! Thanks to all of their staff!!

Room Tip: any room is perfect! The room we had, had a king size bed, LARGE bathroom with LARGE tub and free st...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bykcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Greetings!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I can tell you, it is an extreme delight to hear that our team took care of all of your needs and your stay was memorable.
We thank you for also trying out our restaurant as it is a little gem in the area and provides a truly unique style of service.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having been married at the Carnegie Inn almost four years ago, my husband and I frequent the restaurant several times a year. One of those special dates is always New Year's Eve and 2013 was no different. We arrived for our 8:30 reservation and were seated in the library where we enjoy a drink and hors d'oeuvres while waiting to be seated. Our orders are also taken while waiting in the library so that, once seated, the dining experience is smooth and uneventful. On this particular night, the wait was longer than usual. Quite frankly, the wait is not an inconvenience as we are seated in comfortable chairs, with a fireplace and beautiful holiday decorations creating a warm, romantic environment. The wait is part of the experience and, with our busy lives, I relish the opportunity to relax and enjoy uninterrupted conversation with my husband. The dinner, as always, is also well worth the wait. The food is fabulous - both taste and presentaion. The customer service is second to none. The decor of the restaurant is pleasing to the eye. We have many fond memories of the Carnegie Inn and look forward to creating many more.

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in after we got married was well appointed, clean, and very comfortable. I do n...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

“Greetings from the Carnegie Inn & Spa!

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel and dining establishment. We are delighted you chose to ring in the New Year with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We agree that the dining experience at the Inn is truly unique from what you would experience at other restaurants and feel it is a great way to relax from the day to day pressures of life. We certainly appreciate your continued support of our restaurant and inn and we look forward to seeing you again!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

First, I would like to note that the room at Carnegie Inn and Spa was exceptionally clean, very quiet and exceedingly comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and well-appointed with high quality products. Only 2 items kept this from being the “perfect room”. First, the A/C-Heat unit runs constantly and a torn trim on the window blind that should have been obvious to the cleaning staff was left hanging.

We visited on Thanksgiving weekend, which is an extremely slow time of year, but we felt uncomfortable with the front door-bell ringing every time anyone entered or left the building. Also, we felt the library and lounge should be more welcoming to hotel guests. On Friday afternoon at 4 PM, long after breakfast had been served; the staff was busy vacuuming the rugs in the dining room and library which was off-putting to my wife and me as we wanted to relax, but not in our room. Chairs, not couches, grace the lounge area and are not very comfortable to read a book or just hang out.

As I said, we were there for Thanksgiving and had made reservations for dinner in the restaurant. We were very hungry and had already reviewed the menu, so we opted to bypass the library before entering the dining room. Normally, I would think this would be a pretty cool approach to ordering, but the pace was very slow. The restaurant was not overwhelmed, but everything took a very long time to be served, especially with a limited menu. The amuse’ was very good (a fried potato puff and shrimp, each with delicious sauces) and the desserts were absolutely delicious (Apple dumpling and chocolate pecan pie), the turkey dinner was…a turkey dinner. We really thought that there could have had a more creative spin from such a renowned chef.

Breakfast at the hotel was very good, but the menu was the same for both mornings. We had to ask each morning for ketchup for our potatoes and for raw sugar for our coffee…I would think this would be a standard.

As I began, I want to assure you that we found Carnegie Inn and Spa a delightful place and overall our experience was warm and comforting, which highlighted even more the few off notes in our experience.

Room Tip: Golf course view is very nice. We requested a suite, but they were unavailable due to renovation, th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your input regarding your stay. We appreciate the suggestions and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having stayed at the pricey Carnegie Inn several times, we were looking forward to the comfortable, lovely lodging that we have experienced in the past. This trip, however, exposed some serious flaws. First of all, our room's décor lacked polish, was tired, with scuffed woodwork, an old bulky TV in a dated armoire, worn looking bedspread with threads hanging from it, thin sheets, less than luxurious towels. The room lacked a desk, which is pretty standard furniture in hotels. The details were not even up to the standards one expects at a good chain hotel.

I was not charmed by a cold shower the first morning. When I complained about this situation to the manager (Peter), he neglected to apologize. He said that the gas pilot light had gone out and had to be relit. That actually sounds a little dangerous, not to say causing much discomfort.
My breakfast also left much to be desired. The egg white omelet was undercooked, watery, and barely edible.

My expectations of a felicitous experience were not met. Please, Carnegie Inn, get your magic back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for the input. I have passed the info regarding the room decor along to the ownership as we are striving to persuade them to do some upgrades to the rooms.
My apologies for the water heater pilot light going out. Though certainly not an everyday occurrance, these sort of things to happen here and in homes every once in a while and you do not know it until a person alerts you that there is no hot water, and hopefully before they actually take the shower.
I have spoken to the chef regarding your comment on your egg.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
293 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#15 of 26 in State College
145 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#8 of 26 in State College
1,319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Cricklewood Dr, State College, PA 16803-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in State College
#14 Family Hotel in State College
#16 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $117 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnegie Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tranquil woodlands encircling State College, PA is a destination of innumerable charms - Carnegie Inn & Spa - an intimate little gem in the tradition of the finest European country manors. We invite you to experience the first AAA Four-Diamond hotel in central Pennsylvania, just the first of many distinctions setting the Inn apart as someplace truly special.Carnegie Inn & Spa is elegance personified, with a brand of hospitality and warmth long since vanished from the impersonal, chain-style hotels.But the most delightful surprise comes when you find out that we only look expensive... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnegie Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie House Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing