We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable and quiet delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carnegie Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carnegie Inn & Spa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Waterbury Center, Vermont
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A comfortable and quiet delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

A real delight in every way. Comfortable quiet rooms. Helpful friendly staff. We look forward to coming to State College so we can stay here. There is no coffee in the morning 'til 7:30 so you will have to drive to get some if you're up before then.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 227RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment regarding your stay. We greatly appreciate it.
We are now opened for breakfast at 7 AM so the next time you are with us there will be coffee out.
We are looking forward to having you stay with us again and if there is anything we can do to assist with that, please do let us know.
Regards,
Pete Weaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    28
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
81
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My son and I stayed here when we toured Penn State and were delighted with the large, charmingly appointed, clean rooms, the beautiful grounds and superb dining facility. Breakfast was included and what a fabulous meal it was! To my pleasant surprise it was NOT continental fare consisting of danishes and bagels, but perfectly prepared coffee, juices, omelets with luscious filling choices, roasted potatoes, french toast and more. The bathroom was spacious and luxuriously appointed with plush towels, robes and fine toiletries befitting the "spa" in the facility's name. We plan to go back and explore the hotel's restaurant further. I suspect that it may be one of the better dining establishments in the area and is a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Txadmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Greetings,
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to make comments about your stay and our little inn. Our success is based on our staff really wanting to make everyone's stay legendary.
I have passed your comments to the kitchen staff as they also deserve and "atta boy".
For the past 6 years we have been voted the best fine dining restaurant in the area, much to do with what they and the service staff accomplish.
We sure hope your son decides to attend PSU and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Regards,
Pete Weaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I went to State College last weekend for a little getaway. We were interested in staying at a nice hotel or inn. I found the Carnegie Inn on TripAdvisor and made a reservation immediately after reading some of the reviews. I was not dissapointed. The Inn is conveniently located to State College. I expected a decent room and was wonderfully surprised when it turns out I had reserved a suite. I didn't expect it to be a suite as the rate was so very reasonable. The room was beautiful and huge - as big as a one bedroom apartment. Breakfast was included and was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the kind words. We try to go out of our way to make sure all of our guests have a legendary stay with us. Of course we could not do it without each of you letting us know how we are doing and where we can improve.
The key is a great staff and we have that here.
I am so delighted your stay was all you were hoping.
If there is ever anything we can do, please do let us know.
Regards,
Pete Weaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conway, SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The best. Everything was wonderful. Breakfast was the best ever. The patio sits on the edge of
a golf course. The grounds are beautiful. The room was spotless. We were welcomed by their customer service by a young lady by the name of named Ally. She was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this inn to anyone visiting the State College area.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and had absolutely no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sab867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know how we are doing. We fully appreciate the comments as we know we cannot improve without knowing what you, the guest is experiencing.
We greatly appreciate the kind words about one of our associates, Ally. She is a delight and is a true asset to our team.
We hope you will join us again in the near future and if you would happen to need anything, please do let us know.
Regards,
Pete Weaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Check your room before you sign in! In short: They gave us the wrong rooms, admitted it, apologized, but refuse to give us the difference of 40$ for not giving us the upgraded room we had ordered.

We paid for two rooms, one room is regular and another with a 20 dollar upgrade for "more space".

When we arrived we signed in as you would at any hotel, the woman showed us to our room, immediately we said the rooms look the same, the lady informed us that she just does accounts and is unsure.

When we checked out two days later, we said to the front desk, the rooms were the same at which time the desk said "WE OBVIOUSLY PUT YOU IN THE WRONG ROOM I AM SORRY"

This woman spent 30 minutes trying to subtract 40 dollars from our bill, and ended up accidently charging 380$ extra through a series of mistakes. I understand mistakes, here is where it gets crazy.

She said she messed up so much, her manager will be in later and will fix everything, so we left happily, they called back hours later after we had left and (obviouslly they fixed the 380$ but as for the 40$...)

He said that when we walked in and signed the first paper we agree to pay that price, when we said that we were given the wrong room, the desk admitted it and was trying to give us money back, he said they were wrong!

He claims that we have to lives up to our contract we signed, yet the contract clearly had one upgraded room! So they didn't hold up their end of the bargain.

My next email is to the Better business bureau, this is not right what they did. Make sure to check your room first, I bet this has happened to people who think they got an upgrade but really just have the normal room without one to compare.

Room Tip: Check your room before you sign in! In short: They gave us the wrong rooms, admitted it, apologized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GreasyQtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at the Carnegie Inn & Spa.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the Inn and our Team, for the obvious mistakes we made with your guestroom and billing.
We are learning a new guestroom software and unfortunately are making mistakes.
To make amends, we offer our sincere apology and have refunded you the overcharged monies plus made a further discount to your stay.
We are sorry this situation took time to investigate and resolve.
Again, please accept our apology and we hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was celebrating a recent graduation with a friend and choose The Carnegie Inn. The accommodations were very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the yummy breakfast and our stroll on the grounds. Our Spa visit was also of top quality. I would recommend The Carnegie Inn to anyone who visits the State College area and wants an extra special place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Greetings!
On behalf of the team here at the Carnegie Inn & Spa, we would like to thank you for allowing us to be your host while in State College. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to add your opinion on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that we were able to create a wonderful experience for you as our intention is to make you feel as if you were at home.
If there is ever anything we can ever do, please let us know.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bythesea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

A lovely Inn with hints of a Scottish heritage and within minutes of the beautiful Penn State main Campus. Relax on the large front porch or enjoy the rear Patio overlooking the 17th hole of a nearby golf course. The Chef provides a varied menu, the food is delicious and attractively presented in the cozy dining room. A complimentary breakfast is provided as a part of your reservation package. In the winter, the large sitting room/library is a wonderful place to read, enjoy conversation or play cards beside the fireplace. The Inn also provides a Spa facility that is lovely, offers many services and amenities and a competent staff.

The town of State College provides Music, Art and Theater events throughout the year to add to the College Sports events. There are numerous and varied types of Restaurants and it is a town for casual walking.

Room Tip: All of the rooms & suites that we have been in are lovely. There is elevator access to the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCGIRL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Greetings!
Thank you for the wonderful comments. More importantly, we want to thank you for continuing to allow us to take care of you. We truly enjoy welcoming guests into our "home" and helping them to create wonderful memories.
If there is anything we can ever do, please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Inn & Spa

Property: Carnegie Inn & Spa
Address: 100 Cricklewood Dr., State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in State College
#14 Family Hotel in State College
#16 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnegie Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tranquil woodlands encircling State College, PA is a destination of innumerable charms - Carnegie Inn & Spa - an intimate little gem in the tradition of the finest European country manors. We invite you to experience the first AAA Four-Diamond hotel in central Pennsylvania, just the first of many distinctions setting the Inn apart as someplace truly special.Carnegie Inn & Spa is elegance personified, with a brand of hospitality and warmth long since vanished from the impersonal, chain-style hotels.But the most delightful surprise comes when you find out that we only look expensive... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnegie Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie House Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing