We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't fill up on the first round!”
Review of Green Bowl

Green Bowl
Ranked #66 of 242 Restaurants in State College
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Mongolian
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't fill up on the first round!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I love going to Green Bowl. The selection is always good and the staff is always friendly. Sometimes the veggies aren't as fresh as I would like them to be, but this goes along with having fresh foods. I don't mind, as long as they're not wilted or totally going bad.
Since you can take multiple trips to the buffet, do not fill up your bowl on the first run. Just get a little bit and try something new the next time. Follow the recommendations they have posted, too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have visited the Green Bowl many, many times. The last 2 times it has been less than we expected. Previously our service was lacking, not having drinks refilled etc and the buffet seemed sparce at time but we enjoyed the food so we returned. Tonight we visited again and we will not return. We went in 2 hours prior to closing time and the place was half full. Our waitress was friendly and got our drinks promptly. We went up to the buffet and found that there was over half of the options empty. We stood there assuming they would be refilled soon. Finally a woman who we assumed was the manager for the evening, as she was wearing slacks and a blazer while the other staff were casually dressed, came out of the back. I inquired about a few things to which she replied "we are out" the sauces were almost all empty and the descriptions were rubbed off so we werent able to tell what was what and as my husband noted there was a thick layer of dust on the underside of the sneeze guard. We decided to leave as there wasnt enough food/sauce on the buffet to complete a meal. The couple after us did the same. I have heard from others about disappointing experiences there but we did like it. We will not return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachluvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a veggie meal!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a mongolian grill type of place. Select your meat and veggies, pile up your plate and they cook it up for you on a big visible hot plate. Selection is good, price reasonable, and staff helpful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good but not best”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

good food but they are low on variations of meet and vegetables and some are not fresh. There are couple of mongolian places that i think are better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you don't like your food it's your own fault!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I love this restaurant! It's like a stir fry salad bar. You get a bowl (yes it's green) and fill it up with a huge variety of vegetables, noodles, etc. then you add the sauces of your choice and pick a swizzle stick that indicates shrimp, chicken, beef or pork. You put a wooden stick that has been numbered to indicate where you are sitting in your bowl and leave the bowl on the counter. The staff sdd the protein and cook it up on a huge flat top grill located in the middle of the restaurant. When it's done they bring it to your table. If you are a vegetarian or have food allergies you can request that your food be cooked in a wok. It's all you can eat and comes with unlimited brown or white rice. I like to use sesame oil, garlic, ginger soy, and hot chili sauce. Yum! The restaurant is located across the street from a metered lot and a short walk from several parking garages. The place is generally pretty busy but truthfully not a favorite of my child who is not a veggie fan (there is no childrens menu or other options for kids) but if you like stir fry you have to check it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillysMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Green Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing