We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penn State Institution” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner Room

The Corner Room
Ranked #11 of 240 Restaurants in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Corner room at the intersection of College Avenue and Allen Street offers one of the best venues for experiencing Downtown State College. Grab a booth next to one of the large picture windows and enjoy your favorite meal while watching students and locals make their way to class, work, home and fun! The Corner Room offers delicious, traditional made-from-scratch menu selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner. NEW to the menu is authentic oven-baked Italian pizza. Feel free to pair your pizza with an ice cold soda or juice from the Coca-Cola FREESTYLE machine. You can choose from over 100 different flavor combinations. Since 1926 Town & Gown folks alike have been meeting at "The Corner" enjoying great food and good times ... Welcome and we appreciate your business!
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
209 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Penn State Institution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This may be the original State College eatery. Not much flair,but good,inexpensive food. They have a variety of sandwiches and several blue plate specials including Shepherd's Pie. This is one of my favorite meals and I have had it at many places. This is near the top. Looking for atmosphere;no--Looking for good basic food; yes

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank risserapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    114
    61
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good enough... Nuf said”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stopped in for Sunday lite fare
Pleasant and attentive server
Chili just okay Lacked character
Hot Turkey and mashed
Good not memorable
Prices reasonable
I'll try another spot next visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Longtime local favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place has been around forever and is a favorite place of locals and gatherings after a football game. It is usually busy, so don't be in a hurry. The food is nothing exotic but basic, good and most of it is home made. There is a lot of nostalgia to this place, so you must try it when at Penn State.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrajay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not What It Used To Be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I went here with my mom a few weeks ago to have a nice lunch. This used to be a place we liked to treat ourselves if we wanted a pleasant atmosphere and great food.
We ordered the cheeseburgers. Simple enough. The menu says it comes with lettuce and tomato. My mom asked if it comes with pickle to which the server said no. She asked for one to be added.
When the burgers came out there was only the bun, meat(dried out) and cheese. We had to ask for the lettuce and tomato and her pickle. I asked for some mayo and a side of ranch. 10 minutes later, still no mayo. Another 10 minutes, now a cold burger and fries, still no mayo. I caught the attention of another waiter together the manager. He informed us they only give lettuce and tomato if you ask for it and they don't have any pickles in the restaurant anymore. He excused the waiter for not being back saying he was probably busy. He kind of just stood there a minute so we decided to just leave. I have never just walked out of a place.
Maybe it was just a bad time for them but we were so disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LMM2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, Down Home Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Corner Room is a good place to go to get a good down home style meal. We have eaten here two time and both times were happy and satisfied. The hot sandwitches definitely hit the spot and the breakfast was great. The home fries were really good. I was very full when we arrived but only waited 10 minutes to be seated. The waitress was excellent and the food came out quickly. This place is very causal. We would definitely go back for a relaxed breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jkatobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Room also viewed

 

Been to The Corner Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing