We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already Excellent, with Recent Improvements” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mario & Luigi's

Mario & Luigi's
Ranked #128 of 240 Restaurants in State College
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Already Excellent, with Recent Improvements”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is where you must go for great genuine Italian in State College. Spendy, especially with drinks, but totally worth it! Don't miss their Aperitifs or Seasonal dishes/appetizers. Bread is fantastic with unique dips (complimentary with dinner). Great wine selection too, and they hold regular tasting and pairing class/info sessions!! Tortellini is great as well as all their meat dishes.
Never tried the roast chicken but I've heard it is to die for - getting that next time!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    21
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant in SC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was a very nice Italian restaurant. I thoroughly enjoyed the food and the price was right for the quality, atmosphere, and service.

My favorite time to eat here was in the fall during their Mushroom Festival. So many special dishes, and the flavors were great!

Homemade pasta, and good desserts as well.

I ate here many times, and I have never been disappointed with any service or dish served.

Family atmosphere. Takes reservations. Good for parties or special occassions, however, you can wear jeans here too.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlannaB490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxing ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great Pasta selections, seafood, and meat choices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank thepearl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaks Island, ME
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“That's Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The fine dining experience with quality food, prepared well and served by one of the better staffs. Half priced appetizers are sweet deals along with some excellent wines at the long bar.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 8thMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the price you pay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We love Italian food! We decided to try Mario and Luigi's. It smelled so good when we arrived. We waited for 20 minutes before anyone said hello to us and got our information to be seated. We wanted to leave but we saw some really appetizing dishes during our wait, and decided to stay. The food was pricey, so we decided to share. We ordered the stuffed raviolis. The price was $17. When it came out there were 5 medium size raviolis. My husband has a healthy appetite looked at me and said "I guess I am eating when we get home." He could have ate that dish by himself and still would have been hungry. The raviolis were okay.
I don't think we will ever go back. I think we could go somewhere else and get a better dish for the same price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shandee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario & Luigi's also viewed

 

Been to Mario & Luigi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing