We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice slightly out of hustle and bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good choice slightly out of hustle and bustle”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

On west end of town, this hotel is not at hub of activity. But the distance is short and location makes for quiet stay. The only complaint is the noisy A/C unit. Mine cycled between complete silence and 'I can't hear TV/radio' levels.

If coming from the west, signage come upon you quickly, so pay attention.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DRWMETMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleDaSilva, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello DRWMETMAN,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our quiet, convenient location. Our maintenance team has been doing some work on our HVAC units to help ensure that they do not disturb our guests.

Please be sure to pay us a visit on your next trip to State College.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    115
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
138
51
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Needed a place late on a Sat night and booked this thru TripAdvisor. Pretty new and very clean and quiet. Just what we were looking for. Clerk at front desk was kind of clueless in helping us find a pizza joint late but we managed since we were right near campus. Hot tub and pool were excellent. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrich255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleDaSilva, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello Irich255,

Thanks for the kind review! We are glad to hear that we were just what you were looking for. We are also happy that you enjoyed our indoor pool and hot tub.

Please be sure to stay with us during your next trip to State College!

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel while visiting our daughter. Never fails to satisfy. Rooms are always clean, breakfast is fresh and plentiful, and location is excellent. The staff at this, and any Marriott as far as I'm concerned, is always attentive, helpful and very professional. Check in is always quick and easy as is check out. Beds are quite comfortable and always hot water available for showers. If you stay it this location, a must try is Otto's right next door!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadBud6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleDaSilva, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello Badbud6,

Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that you continue to return to our hotel, and have found the hotel clean each time you visit. Our staff works very hard to keep the hotel running smoothly. We are big fans of Otto's and are glad you enjoy the restaurant as much as we do.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOLEDO
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Atlantic City. We arrived late at night and headed out fairly early. However, while there, we enjoyed out stay. The front desk staff was very good and the room was nice. Nothing too extravagant but a perfect place to get some rest before continuing out trip. We got a great rate though Priceline so we couldl't complain one bit! We were very pleased!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rentfan626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam J, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello Rentfan626,
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us. If you do return to State College, please be sure to stay with us again so that you may take full advantage of our property.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have stayed at this Fairfield Inn in the winter for a swim meet. Had a king suite with a pull out sofa which I thought was nice, BUT, when it was time to sleep, I was surprised! Pull out sofa blanket was full of hair! (and not just head hair either) yuck! Called down to the front desk and right away, I got a replacement blanket, but needless to say, when I showed the girl, her exact word was "wow!". I let this go as the rest of the stay was nice and the breakfast was great.

My recent stay however, was a different story. Besides the good breakfast, everything else just went downhill. We were there for a swim meet and the hotel was fully booked. We arrived early but couldn't check in at that time. The supervisor gave us a key to use the pool area and we were able to have breakfast. That was very nice, and that kind of hospitality is what brought us back.

We left for the meet, and came back later in the day to check in, no problem. Went up to the room and found no fridge. I called down to ask for one, but they were out of them. OK, I brought down the food I had to be put in the kitchen fridge. We left again, and came back later that night. I wanted something hot to drink after a long day, so I made a cup of coffee just to find out that they had cold coffee out. Oh well, we went up to the room to sleep. As I was fixing the bed covers for my children, I found a blood stain on one of the covers. Are you kidding me?! I called down to the front desk and said "I think there is a blood stain on the cover", and the woman replied "okaaay", (I felt as if she was saying, 'and what do you want me to do about it?'). I repeated, "there is blood on the cover!". So she replied, we have a full house and blankets have not been washed. I told here, "so what should I do?", she replied, "you can take it off if you want" "I will try to find another one for you". Of course nothing came, and we had to sleep with a dirty and disgusting cover. I also am a silver elite member and I practically had to beg the next morning for a late checkout. Next time I will probably look elsewhere to stay and not waste $112 at this hotel. I also advise that if this hotel can not manage to accommodate a full house where every guest is equally comfortable, then they should not do it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleura99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam J, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello Fleura99,
I would first like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay.
Please be assured that cleanliness issues are few and far between here at the Fairfield. We strive to provide each guest with a clean room, and we are sorry that we did not live up to this standard.
We often sell out during event weekends, and there are certain amenities that are only available in limited quantities. We do have extra blankets and refrigerators available upon request. They are available on a first come first serve basis. Our sister property, The Springhill Suites does have refrigerators in each of their rooms. If you require a refrigerator during your travels they are a hotel I highly recommend.
As always, thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us with this valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Never a suprise, always what I expect from a Marriott hotel, breakfest out early and available for the early risers like me, room was in excellent condition, the bed was big and comfortable, large bathroom, good location, would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a good location, never had a problem with any room I have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reggie962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam J, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello Reggie962,
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you continue to return to our property. We are glad that you find it clean each time you visit!
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've started staying here about one month ago. His is my third stay and I will continue to make it the hotel I use throughout the summer and into the fall. Clean, friendly and helpful staff. Location was exactly where I needed to be, close to shopping and a great choice of dining

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleDaSilva, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello Joe A,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We always love it when guests continue to return to our property, it means we're doing something right! We are happy to hear that you've found the hotel clean, and staff friendly. We are also glad that you are able to take advantage of our convenient location.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites State College
SpringHill Suites State College
#6 of 26 in State College
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#15 of 26 in State College
107 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites State College

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
Address: 2215 North Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in State College
#14 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting State College, Pennsylvania, choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott State College for your business or leisure travel is a great choice. Our State College hotel's setting is just minutes from all the attractions the city has to offer including the Pennsylvania State University campus, Bryce Jordan Center, Beaver Stadium and Medlar Field at Lubrano Park. All the wonderful shopping and dining options the area has to offer are minutes away from our accommodations too. Refreshing guest rooms feature luxury bedding, coffeemakers and high-speed Internet access so your stay will be comfortable and relaxing. Our hotel also offers a delicious complimentary breakfast each morning ensuring that you will start the day off right. Other features include our fitness center, indoor pool, and full service business center. Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott State College offers all the quality services and amenities you have come to know from the name Marriott, so start planning your trip to State College today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites State College
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College Hotel State College
Fairfield Inn State College
Fairfield State College
State College Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing