We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were looking for a place to stop over en route to our final destination. This hotel is clean, comfortable, and convenient to I-99. Hotel staff were very pleasant. Next door is Otto's microbrewery, a great place to recover from a day of driving. We will be staying here again

Room Tip: The hotel seemed fairly empty, yet we were placed in a room next to others. The walls are a bit thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chompash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hello Chompash,

Glad to read that you found our location convenient, as well as our property clean and comfortable. Otto's is definitely a nice restaurant to wind-down at after a long day of work or travel. We hope you visit us again during your next trip to Happy Valley. Best wishes for a great start of a new year!

Cheers,


Mark Burnett
Property Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 356 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were very happy with the hotel. It's clean, comfortable, and the staff people we met were very efficient and friendly. The bed was great.

I'd like to give it five stars, but one thing bothered me about this hotel: The use of styrofoam plates and cups at breakfast. I would have like to see the hotel be a little "greener."

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leftwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Happy New Year leftwing!
We are glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, and found our facility clean and comfortable. The Fairfield brand has been focusing on becoming more eco-friendly. In fact, we have recently instituted our Reuse Program designed to minimize water usage. The next phase of our ‘green’ initiative will be focused on our breakfast and kitchen areas. Thank you for your thoughtful review.
Cheers,

Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just stayed at the Fairfield Inn for the volleyball tournament. As always everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. I really appreciate the music channels that are available on their cable system to lull you to sleep. The heating system was not loud. The only thing new is that they no longer have the coffee pot in the room but there was a letter saying that there was coffee 24/7 down in the lobby and indeed it was readily available. However, I imagine that some might prefer to perk the coffee in the room and that was option was available upon request. Breakfast included waffles, fresh fruit, oatmeal (not instant--which I appreciate), scrambled eggs (for some reason they are pretty tasteless), etc. Staff is friendly, helpful. We enjoy staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Hello Helen L,

Thank you for the positive feedback, and second review of our property. We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us again and are happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast. Our property was part of a 5 month pilot where Marriott was experimenting with new breakfast options for the Fairfield brand. The sausage patties and scrambled eggs are two of the new breakfast options. Regarding guestroom coffee, we noticed that many guests weren’t using the coffee pots in the rooms. To minimize waste, we decided to make coffee in the rooms optional upon request. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you.

Cheers,


MB.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I arrived with a large group at 10:30am for check-in. They said they they were not ready and we'd have to check in at the normal time (3pm). OK. So we went to lunch and did a few things and arrived at 3:45pm to find that our rooms were STILL not ready - though they knew we had been waiting since 10:30am. So slightly disappointing that they couldn't even have the rooms ready when they KNEW we were waiting! But, they were great in getting us all on the same floor in the same section. The hotel was clean and the front desk was very polite and friendly. The rooms were a standard for a Fairfield but I have to admit CLEANER. It is strange, but I always like to look at the returns in the room and bathroom and shower to see how dusty they are for overall cleanliness - these were pristine!! Probably one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in!! I would stay there again based on the price point, cleanliness, staff energy etc. Just be prepared to wait when it comes to checking-in as they are very laid back attitude - think southern slow.

Room Tip: There is really no "good" room in terms of view - you are next to a pub and recycling cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank court10482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Hello court10482,

We appreciate your review! Our Room Attendants work really hard at keeping the property as clean as possible. We truly appreciate you noticing their work, as well as the energy of our staff! I’m not quite sure what the cause for your delayed check-in was. However, with check-out being 12noon early check-ins, and large groups requesting to be placed together, create an additional challenge for staff. I am glad to hear that our Desk Agent was able to accommodate the request of your group.

In good spirits,



Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was clean and up to date. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Nice pool. Good breakfast. There is a restaurant/pub right in front of the hotel. There is a shopping center with a Wegmans down the street. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Good day malmit,

Thank you for the lovely review! Otto’s, the restaurant/pub you mentioned being next to our hotel, is a local gem. All their food is prepared fresh in house, and all ingredients are locally grown and raised. They brew and distribute their own beer! Did you happen to try their Apricot Wheat selection? I am also glad to hear that you had a chance to relax during your visit. Business travelers like yourself use a lot of energy, so it’s good you had the chance to re-energize at our hotel. Thank you again.

Cheers,


Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

No blankets, terrible towels. The one person staffing the hotel is very nice. Would I stay here again? Not if there were better options. But the price sure is right! The location is extremely convenient to Penn State and shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendysolganik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Hello Wendysolganik,

I am very sorry to read that you did not quite enjoy your stay to the degree I would hope. You may not have been aware, but your bed came standard with a comforter sandwich between a flat sheet and a top sheet for your warmth. In addition, comforters and blankets are both available upon request from any member of our staff. I am glad to read that you thought the price was fair, as it includes: complimentary high speed internet and hot breakfast, free printing, an indoor pool and Jacuzzi, as well as a 24hr fitness center and guest laundry room. I hope you decide to stay with us again in the future. Next time we won’t miss our opportunity to greatly impress you.

Kind regards,


Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

With the Fairfield Inn, you get what you pay for - no surprises here. A nice and tidy room, breakfast included, wifi included (faster than what I have at home!), and a nice gym/pool. Only downside to this location of the hotel is the lack of restaurants nearby. The only place to eat was a brew pub next door that was average. If you're just passing through, it's fine though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jheisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Hello jheisel,

What a wonderful review, thank you! During your stay, I’m not sure that you were aware that less than 2 miles from our hotel are the following restaurants: Applebee’s, Cracker Barrel, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Outback Steak House, Texas Road House, CC’ Peppers, College Buffett, Subway, Chick-fil-a, and McDonald's. If you are partial to “fine” dining, I would suggest Zola’s, Gigi’s, Spats, or the Carnegie House for your next visit to Happy Valley (State College).

Cheers,


Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,342 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites State College

Address: 2215 North Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in State College
#14 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $106 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting State College, Pennsylvania, choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott State College for your business or leisure travel is a great choice. Our State College hotel's setting is just minutes from all the attractions the city has to offer including the Pennsylvania State University campus, Bryce Jordan Center, Beaver Stadium and Medlar Field at Lubrano Park. All the wonderful shopping and dining options the area has to offer are minutes away from our accommodations too. Refreshing guest rooms feature luxury bedding, coffeemakers and high-speed Internet access so your stay will be comfortable and relaxing. Our hotel also offers a delicious complimentary breakfast each morning ensuring that you will start the day off right. Other features include our fitness center, indoor pool, and full service business center. Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott State College offers all the quality services and amenities you have come to know from the name Marriott, so start planning your trip to State College today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College Hotel State College
Fairfield Inn And Suites State College
Fairfield Inn State College
Fairfield State College
State College Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing