We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay for a night”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

With the Fairfield Inn, you get what you pay for - no surprises here. A nice and tidy room, breakfast included, wifi included (faster than what I have at home!), and a nice gym/pool. Only downside to this location of the hotel is the lack of restaurants nearby. The only place to eat was a brew pub next door that was average. If you're just passing through, it's fine though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jheisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello jheisel,

What a wonderful review, thank you! During your stay, I’m not sure that you were aware that less than 2 miles from our hotel are the following restaurants: Applebee’s, Cracker Barrel, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Outback Steak House, Texas Road House, CC’ Peppers, College Buffett, Subway, Chick-fil-a, and McDonald's. If you are partial to “fine” dining, I would suggest Zola’s, Gigi’s, Spats, or the Carnegie House for your next visit to Happy Valley (State College).

Cheers,


Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    110
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
132
50
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conshohocken, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were in State College to tour PSU. I have stayed at many Fairfields, and this one was typical. It was clean, new and bright with a very pleasant and helpful staff. Our room and beds were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size. It was decent location, with easy access to the campus, down town and main roads. The free breakfast is great. it had hot items as well as toast, cereal, fruit and yogurt. We were on the first floor, but it was still quiet and we got a great night's sleep. I have never had a bad stay at a Fairfield. This place is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelsween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello kelsween,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Fairfield brand! We also appreciate you recognizing the standards met at our hotel. Our team works hard so that important guests like you receive the quality that you deserve. Thank you!

Kind regards,


Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyssCyn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I spent two nights here after staying in Lock Haven and I wish I'd just stayed there.
My grandbaby stayed with me one night and the nice young man who brought up a pack and play dropped the sheet on a very dirty floor so I couldn't use it. I didn't complain at that point but did after returnind to the room the following evening to find the room again not vacuumed. The bedding was basically thrown on and the bathroom still had another of my grandbabies footprints on the floor.
I had to go down to the desk for toilet paper!
Apparently my daughter had complained after she dropped me off but it was "too late" for the room to be vacuumed.
I actually left a somewhat snarky note for housekeeping with no tip.
Probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MyssCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello MyssCyn,

Allow me to apologize for your less than ideal experience. Something certainly went awry, and it appears that we dropped the ball. This description is most definitely below our standards (not even close). Please feel free to contact me directly, so that we might discuss this situation further.

Sincerely,


Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

At the tale end of a business trip, I arrived a this hotel at midnight. I asked for a room as far away as possible and was the last room on the third floor. I slept a like a baby. The room was spotless. The HVAC perfect. The view was great. The breakfast was far above average.

This is a top pick for value of your money.

I had only two complaints. The morning coffee was way too strong (reminded me of military coffee) and the beds are a little stiff. But neither would keep me from returning to thishotel.

Room Tip: The third floor is quieter as this hotel gets a lot of children playing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi intermanus,

Thank you for your review, and its wonderful title! Glad to hear that your room was well cleaned, and that you “slept like a baby.” We hope that in the future you plan on visiting us again. Thank you.

Cheers,


Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have come to terms that I am not of fan of Fairfield's beds, however this is a very nice hotel, well worth the price paid for the room. The continental breakfast was large, clean, and fully stocked. The hotel seemed new, and very clean. Service was attentive, and friendly. The room was spotless, dust free, and good for a night's rest. Parking was easily available, and they have a concierge station with stuff to do in the area.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on the first floor of the hotels, have strangely high ceilings (like 15ft), ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noxiousburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello noxiousburrito (cool name),

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We really appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you.

Cheers,


Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Room was very clean.
The employees are very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elcolombiano218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello elcolombiano218,

Thank you for your review. Clean rooms and a friendly and helpful staff are key drives which make Fairfield’s great hotels to stay at. We hope that you choose to lodge with us again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,


Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montoursville
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

As for the hotel itself, excellent but the neighborhood is lacking. If you want to get a quick bite to eat, your choices are Otto's, delivery or got in your car. Other than the location, the place is outstanding. Price was very reasonable and the facilities were topnotch. Breakfast area was well attended to in the morning. We would stay here again but would make sure we eat before checking in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charleygop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello Charleygop,

Thank you for the review! We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,


Mark Burnett
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites State College
SpringHill Suites State College
#6 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites State College

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
Address: 2215 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-1529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in State College
#14 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting State College, Pennsylvania, choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott State College for your business or leisure travel is a great choice. Our State College hotel's setting is just minutes from all the attractions the city has to offer including the Pennsylvania State University campus, Bryce Jordan Center, Beaver Stadium and Medlar Field at Lubrano Park. All the wonderful shopping and dining options the area has to offer are minutes away from our accommodations too. Refreshing guest rooms feature luxury bedding, coffeemakers and high-speed Internet access so your stay will be comfortable and relaxing. Our hotel also offers a delicious complimentary breakfast each morning ensuring that you will start the day off right. Other features include our fitness center, indoor pool, and full service business center. Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott State College offers all the quality services and amenities you have come to know from the name Marriott, so start planning your trip to State College today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites State College
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College Hotel State College
Fairfield Inn State College
Fairfield State College
State College Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing