We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good after game sports eat and drink stop.”
Review of Damon's Grill State College - CLOSED

Damon's Grill State College
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Good after game sports eat and drink stop.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After every home Penn State game we get together with friends and head to Damon's. It has a free parking lot and is away from the downtown madness. The place fills up quickly even though there are 2 rooms downstairs and the bar and area on the main floor so don't dally after the game, go there straight away. The host and waitstaff are always so friendly and service oriented and this was no exception after the Penn State loss to Ohio State recently. My husband and I loved the burger sliders, our friends liked the salmon dinner and the pumpkin pie cheesecake seasonal dessert. It is nice to sit and relax while watching the high lights on the big multi screens, plus catching up on other teams as well. The downstairs big room has the most screens. If you are a couple or 4 or 5 people, try to get one of the comfortable curved booths. There are tables with many chairs for families and groups of more than 5. Fans from other teams are welcome. Some Ohio State fans were sitting at a table near us and we had a very nice conversation with them.
The menu is varied with sports food plus some healthy options. The walls have photos of Beaver stadium, players, Joe Paterno, and win/loss records. At our table was a self controlled volume and tv selection box. At times it was hard to hear tho as the volume only went up so high. As the place fills up with people, service slows down so be prepared to not be in a hurry. All in all a pleasant atmosphere and we will return. Bon Apetit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    31
    27
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Hall, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but needs a little help.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I visited Damon's because the restaurant we wanted to go to was too busy. We were here years ago and liked it so tried again. The greeting was very friendly. Multiple choices for seating dependent on basically the noise level. We went all the way down to the lowest level. Multiple huge screens with different programs on and a personal box to listen to the TV of your choice. Overall background music is too loud though. Hard to hear our channel. Waitress name was Amanda. Nice cute girl and very pleasant. 2 groups came in on each side of us after we ordered. Mojito I ordered was too sweet. Onion appetizer was under cooked and greasy but was good. French Onion soup was good but a bit heavy on the onion for me. I know. Our co-diners got their food before us and I ordered the same thing as each of the tables. Waitress was slow to the point the manager came by and we told her we had been waiting a while. She saved the meal. Personally went and got our meals. Wife was given French fries and not mashed like ordered. Manager went and got it herself. Wife liked her sirloin steak. My ribs were very good but my Prime Rib was just OK. Waitress was poor but manager was superb. Probably go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Standard Damon's, but still good”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Standard chain restaurant, but it's a good location with solid service and a great Clubhouse. If you're into chains with less conventional picks, this is a decent bet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robbinz410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical and plenty of other places in state college to eat”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you're going to travel to state college, for visit, to check out the school, or to stay for a while, you can easily find better sports-bar type of places in a town arguably crawling with such establishments. I have eaten at Damon's before and found this one not as good as the previous ones. The staff was friendly enough, but the food took a while to come out, despite it being midday on a weekday, and it wasn't the best. If you like Damon's, then there's nothing wrong with this one, but if you are looking for more of the "university town" atmosphere, try any of the other local, non-chain establishments, many reviewed here on Trip Advisor. I probably will not be eating at this one again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fallon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sports bar fare, no more no less”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Pretty much what you would expect from the menu - burgers and other typical sports bar food. Though they do have a pretty good selection of salads. Probably a better choice for dinner than lunch.

The place is huge, so you should never have to wait long for a seat. There are two sections - one in the bar and a separate dining area like a traditional restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank moravian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damon's Grill State College also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing