We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent!”

American Ale House and Grill
Ranked #16 of 244 Restaurants in State College
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Most Excellent!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have been to the Ale House 3 or 4 times now and found it to be great every time. The service is wonderful, quick and very friendly. The food has been very good. We recently went to their Easter Buffet and was blown away with the variety. Prime Rib, salmon, lamb, ham...vegetables galore, chocolate fountain. They had a difficult time keeping the dishes full on the buffet but would deliver certain dishes to your table if you wanted something and found it empty on the buffet. I found that very appealing.
Other times we have gotten burgers, fish, salads......all great. Love the atmosphere. The windows behind the bar open to the outside in the summer and makes you feel like you are outside. They have a piano and have music many nights. Their website can tell you more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kak3et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    99
    37
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Place for a PSU Game or a Special Occasion”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visit State College regularly and this place has become one of our "go to" restaurants. There are enough TVs to make it enjoyable for a game. They can also handle large groups easily. We just had our family Easter Brunch there. Service was great and the food was excellent. Varied menu on the buffet with multiple breakfast and luncheon items and a great selection of cheeses, fruits and desserts. And to top it off a Bloody Mary "Make Your Own" bar!

From casual to a nice, formal dinner, this place has it all in a comfortable setting. Reservations never hurt. It should be noted that this is not downtown near campus, but is in the Toftrees section. This is a nice little residential and resort community.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LDSIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some unique fare; mix of nouveau riche, psu alum & sporty folks; good place to relax with friends”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

American Ale House does have a few tasty dishes that set them apart from most other places in State College. For starters, the oyster nachos are quite tasty, especially with a good whiskey; the ahi tuna and salmon can also be quite tasty when they are fresh (3 of the 5-6 times we have ordered these the fish tasted very fishy and farm-raised, bland). We once shared the turkey apple cheddar sandwich and that was not too bad either. On our most recent visit we ordered the Acapulco salad and the pumpkin ravioli. Both of these were quite good.

There are a few ales that are also unique to AAHG and go well with the meals. We have only tried the Pinot Grigio from Washington state (Oregon would be better) and it went very well with the smoked salmon dish.

The crowd varies from visit to visit and the ambience can be greatly influenced by the different attitudes. Some of the standouts have included a fraternity/sorority reunion sort of feel; snobbish, nouvea riche and attention demanding; the football weekend crowd, and a hip academic crowd of professors. It is hard to know what to expect, however, some of the very best experiences have been when we meet friends for a late afternoon (around 3 pm) aperitif and meal.

If it is a pleasant day with a warm zephyr, and you and your friends want to slow down, then this is a great place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OceanBeachSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Easter Brunch”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

was looking for a place to take the family to Easter Brunch. Never heard of this place but it was recommended by another restaurant that was booked. We made reservations for 6. Everything was top notch from start to finish. Server Lindsay was phenomenal. Very attentive. The buffet had more than you could ask for and everything was fresh and fantastic. Will definitely return when back in Happy Valley. Great job. Kudos to the American Ale House for making a great Easter meal while we were away from home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PGHJEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Consistently the Best”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are very frequent visitors to the Ale House. Have eaten at all of the top-rated restaurants in the area, but the Ale House consistently outperforms Zola, Gamble Mill, Gigi's, Allen Street Grill, Cozy Thai, Spats, Marios. etc. The food is consistently good, the menu is very broad in terms of prices and options, the wine list and prices are excellent, and the staff is the best we've seen in the area. One the rare occasion when something was amiss, the management has always taken care of it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Ale House and Grill also viewed

 

Been to American Ale House and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing