We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in State Collegs”
Review of Autoport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Autoport
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I've stayed here a couple times and have been impressed each time. The staff are all very personable and friendly. The rooms are comfortable although are not "modern" which I think adds to their charm. The housekeeping staff cleaned my room thoroughly for a new arrival and did an awesome job cleaning for a stay over. The rooms are very quiet even though they face the highway. The onsite restaurant has great food and is very affordable (they also have catering). There are two onsite bars (one smoking one non) and have live music occasionally. The location is very convenient to PennState and places in State College

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

The rooms are disgusting. The bathroom was full of centipedes. But that's not the worst of it! I made the mistake of eating in the restaurant on Saturday 6/30. The waitstaff was rude and the service slow. I paid with a bank card/credit card. When I checked my online bank account the following Monday-- they charged me not once but three times in three different amount! I called the Autoport and boy were they UNCONCERNED. They said they'd get right on it. I checked the next day and they had reversed 2 of the 3 charges but they also put 2 MORE NEW CHARGES in my account in yet different amounts. I called again and they were SO LACKADAISICAL and could't understand why I was upset?! I also faxed a letter of complaint. They removed one of the 2 new charges. So I STILL HAVE TWO CHARGES ON MY CREDIT CARD, neither in the correct amount, and triple what I actually charged. I called again and this time they were rude to me and basically told me to screw off. So I reversed the charges with my bank. I can excuse the first instance as total incompetence but the second time? The only explanation I have for their behavior is fraud. BEWARE FRAUD IF YOU GIVE THE AUTOPORT YOU CREDIT CARD.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank vxf111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Please, please,please do yourself a favor and pay attention to the reviews you read about this place. They ARE accurate. I didn't believe it could be as bad as it sounded or was rated but after staying here during Memorial Day weekend, it is TERRIBLE. The rooms are ancient, sheets dirty, the bath towels were worse and the beds.....I don't know what to say. REALLY, it's that bad.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Dev1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for our daughters graduation first weekend in May. Everyone associated with this property needs to be congratulated. They are remodeling, so don't know about all the rooms. We got one of the older rooms, but were pleasantly surprised. From the front desk, to the ladies working on cleaning your rooms, to the restaurant, it seemed that everyone was on the same page, to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. They definitely succeeded. Thanks for giving us a great place to stay at an unbelievable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank h0meintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have stayed here for the past few years for a reunion. Though they painted the rooms. The wallpaper is peeling, the televisions are a joke and the sort is the moving of the dining area to make a smoking bar. Service was horrible in the dining room. Breakfast great bargain. Inner meal bland and sonot worth the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JANNETTE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The rooms reminded me of days gone by. 70's carpet, 80's tile and 2012 pricing for a 3 star hotel, all wrapped up in a Motel. The place would benefit from a little updating. We will book at a chain next time we are in town. Happy hour was a bargain. 4 of us had drinks and apps for under $80.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnie M, Manager at Autoport, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Autoport. Being the first motel in Pennsylvania we do have rooms reminiscent of the days gone by. We appreciate the feedback and would just like to inform you that since the property has had a change of ownership we have slowly, but surely, been updating our guestrooms. Just request a newer room next time and we would be happy to accommodate! While we are disappointed in your decision to choose a chain hotel next time you visit Happy Valley, we hope to see you back at the Port Lounge!
-Autoport Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

GREAT PLACE TO HAVE WEDDING RECEPTION! Owners and staff were very attentive and accommodating, they went out of their way to make sure my daughters special day was exactly that, SPECIAL. The food was endless and delicious! Waitstaff was very professional and was great with all guest, especailly the small children that were keeping everyone on their toes. The Autoport is a great place to hold an event, fun atmosphere and food is always Yummy! The rooms were clean and rate was affordable Highly recommended by this patron.

Room Tip: rooms in first building are very spacious and close to dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bethany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,415 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
317 reviews
3.2 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#9 of 26 in State College
604 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autoport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autoport

Address: 1405 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-6206
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range: $59 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Autoport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small town and a major university – a unique atmosphere prevails here and no where is it reflected better than at The Autoport. For 70 years we’ve grown with our community, offering locals and visitors alike the best dining and lodging in town. History may not repeat itself, but our guests return time and again. Come and experience The Autoport yourself – outstanding food, comfortable atmosphere and friendly hospitality. The one, the only, The Autoport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Autoport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autoport Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing