We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is HORRIBLE !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Autoport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Autoport
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in State College
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place is HORRIBLE !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Please, please,please do yourself a favor and pay attention to the reviews you read about this place. They ARE accurate. I didn't believe it could be as bad as it sounded or was rated but after staying here during Memorial Day weekend, it is TERRIBLE. The rooms are ancient, sheets dirty, the bath towels were worse and the beds.....I don't know what to say. REALLY, it's that bad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dev1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    16
See reviews for
9
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for our daughters graduation first weekend in May. Everyone associated with this property needs to be congratulated. They are remodeling, so don't know about all the rooms. We got one of the older rooms, but were pleasantly surprised. From the front desk, to the ladies working on cleaning your rooms, to the restaurant, it seemed that everyone was on the same page, to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. They definitely succeeded. Thanks for giving us a great place to stay at an unbelievable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank h0meintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have stayed here for the past few years for a reunion. Though they painted the rooms. The wallpaper is peeling, the televisions are a joke and the sort is the moving of the dining area to make a smoking bar. Service was horrible in the dining room. Breakfast great bargain. Inner meal bland and sonot worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasGirl78253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these State College hotels

Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The rooms reminded me of days gone by. 70's carpet, 80's tile and 2012 pricing for a 3 star hotel, all wrapped up in a Motel. The place would benefit from a little updating. We will book at a chain next time we are in town. Happy hour was a bargain. 4 of us had drinks and apps for under $80.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnie M, Manager at Autoport, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Autoport. Being the first motel in Pennsylvania we do have rooms reminiscent of the days gone by. We appreciate the feedback and would just like to inform you that since the property has had a change of ownership we have slowly, but surely, been updating our guestrooms. Just request a newer room next time and we would be happy to accommodate! While we are disappointed in your decision to choose a chain hotel next time you visit Happy Valley, we hope to see you back at the Port Lounge!
-Autoport Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

GREAT PLACE TO HAVE WEDDING RECEPTION! Owners and staff were very attentive and accommodating, they went out of their way to make sure my daughters special day was exactly that, SPECIAL. The food was endless and delicious! Waitstaff was very professional and was great with all guest, especailly the small children that were keeping everyone on their toes. The Autoport is a great place to hold an event, fun atmosphere and food is always Yummy! The rooms were clean and rate was affordable Highly recommended by this patron.

Room Tip: rooms in first building are very spacious and close to dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bethany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is a great place to go for drinks, especially during happy hour which is 5 til 7pm. The appetizers and many drinks are half price, and it's great to sit out on the patio during the summer. The waiting staff are pleasant and they are accommodating to families.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zoebrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Marketing at Autoport, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you very much! Hope to see you out by the pool this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I have lived in state college for quite some time and never considering the Autoport restaurant for dining. Well, my wife convinced me that the food was very good there so we decided to go for an early saturday dinner. I was very impressed. First, they have happy hour on the weekends ( half price drinks and apps.) The food was spectacular and affordable. I had the crabcake sandwhich which was severed on a crossant with sweet potato fries!!!!!! It was soo good. My wife had sliders which were served on potato rolls with home made potato chips. outstanding!!!! The only complaint if any was that our service a tad slow. But we sat outside and the weather was nice so it wasn't that bad. This is a really good spot to grab some grub especially if you can make it during happy hour.

Room Tip: Go during happy hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Prince_Oochie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard State College
#20 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State College
#16 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#22 of 26 in State College
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autoport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autoport

Property: Autoport
Address: 1405 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-6206
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Autoport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small town and a major university – a unique atmosphere prevails here and no where is it reflected better than at The Autoport. For 70 years we’ve grown with our community, offering locals and visitors alike the best dining and lodging in town. History may not repeat itself, but our guests return time and again. Come and experience The Autoport yourself – outstanding food, comfortable atmosphere and friendly hospitality. The one, the only, The Autoport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Autoport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autoport Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing