We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A standard for Sicilian pies”
Review of Hi-Way Pizza Pubs

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hi-Way Pizza Pubs
Ranked #169 of 242 Restaurants in State College
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Schwenksville, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A standard for Sicilian pies”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We used to eat at Hi-way cut pie shop downtown when we were students in the '70s. You couldn't beat their quality then and all these years later now that our son is a student you still can't. They make the best Sicilian pie Ever. Every once in a while we get one where the crust isn't crisp enough but the vast majority of the time it is perfection. And they also make the best Long Island Iced Teas ever. This IS lunch for us in State College.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service to be desired”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The calamari was excellent but the buffalo chicken cheesesteak is sooooo good! The service, now that leaves a lot to be desired! The calamari arrived pretty quickly but the entrees took at least 40 minutes for a place that was practically empty. Our server was only around to bring our food and deliver our check.... Next time, will try the other location as service there seems to be top notch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadBud6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Pizza!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great pizza take out or eat in as well as a good selection of pasta dinners. Efficient and friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reliable pizza every time; Customer service is prime”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The pizza has always tastes very fresh and has a great flavor. Have had 1 pizza delivery that was late and the management gave us a gift card for a free pizza the next visit. In fact, during our most recent visit, we overheard the customers next to us talking with the manager who had come to apologize about an error. These people care that the customer is happy in all aspects, so far as we can tell.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OceanBeachSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pizza place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We never ate in this place for the longest time assuming that it was not kid-friendly. It is in fact kids friendly. We have been there a bunch of times and we have had semi-bad service one of the time (the server was in-training).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hi-Way Pizza Pubs also viewed

 

Been to Hi-Way Pizza Pubs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing