We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special.”
Review of Allen Street Grill

Allen Street Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Allen Street Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 244 Restaurants in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Allen Street Grill, located directly above the Corner Room at the intersection of College Avenue and Allen Street, promotes a casual gourmet dining experience, superb food, outstanding service and one of the best Town and Gown views in State College. Priced reasonably and offering upscale cuisine is always a challenge but Bert and Becky Burger, the husband and wife French Trained Executive Chef and General Manager, seem to pull it off with ease. From the moment you walk in the door and approach your seat overlooking the bustling sidewalk you become an integral part of this historic corner. The Grill also offers complete Lunch Service and a variety of Daily Specials to please the most discriminating palate. Full Bar Service is available along with an affordable award winning wine list. The Grill Management and Staff is excited for you to stop by with family and friends to experience The Allen Street Grill, 100 West College Avenue on the second floor, taking your dining experience to a higher level!
Westchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Place was cute, but food was just ok. Portions were very small. Waiter was very nice, but I would not recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank palechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    76
    48
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Was recommended, I can see why”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I asked two friends where someone who has never been to State College should dine. Both quickly said, "Allen Street Grill" and preferably at a table overlooking College Avenue. We took their advice and were very pleased.

Our oarty of four enjoyed an appetizer sampler, salads, burgers and one pasta dish. Menu prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirkwoodMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“2 out of 4”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

In our party of 4 people, 2 of us were very happy with our meals and the other 2 were just "eh". The 2 that were not pleased with their meal both tried the risotto. They thought it was not bad but not good either. I was pleased with my salad with pasta and chicken. We will definitely keep going since we like the restaurant but will try different options.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russell-UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great venue- what happened to the food?”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was our first time back since leaving campus 4 years ago. My husband and I used to eat here quite often and can't remember a bad experience.... until now. The soups were lukewarm, the entrees took forever, we never were offered bread. When I asked about the 'signature salads', I was told they were huge portions and not to disappoint. Umm.. my Orient Salad looked like scraps of whatever was left in the kitchen served on a plate a bit bigger than my empty bread plate. Husband got a very fatty Jack Roadhouse steak. Anyway- it was nice to go back and had many nostalgic memories, hopefully will forget this one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HobokenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Diverse menu choices, nice wine selection, nostalgic venue.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We often eat here when in the SC area. Located on the 2nd floor of the Hotel State College (on the corner of College Ave. and Allen) and above the "Corner Room", we find it well placed when shopping downtown. We were here for Arts Fest 2014 and chose the Allen Street Grill for our dinner because of the proximity to the Allen Street stage (which we had just come from after listening to an Arts Fest performance), AND because we have always enjoyed their menu. We find the salad selections to be excellent, the seafood choices interesting and tasty, and the wine selection is good as well. My husband had the "Jack's Roadhouse Salad" which had sweet and spicy tenderloin tips over romaine, shoestring fires, veggies & blue cheese dressing, and I had the crab ravioli with shrimp glaze. Both were excellent. This is a moderately expensive restaurant, but we feel it is a good fit for us. Their lunch and dinner menus are diverse enough to accommodate most people, the atmosphere is pleasant, and the wait staff are pleasant. The Allen Street Grill is always one of our top choices for dinner when we are in the area, and considering this experience, they will continue to be on our "top 5" list! Good job Allen Street Grill!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nittfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allen Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Allen Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing