We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue- what happened to the food?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allen Street Grill

Allen Street Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Allen Street Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 240 Restaurants in State College
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Allen Street Grill, located directly above the Corner Room at the intersection of College Avenue and Allen Street, promotes a casual gourmet dining experience, superb food, outstanding service and one of the best Town and Gown views in State College. Priced reasonably and offering upscale cuisine is always a challenge but Bert and Becky Burger, the husband and wife French Trained Executive Chef and General Manager, seem to pull it off with ease. From the moment you walk in the door and approach your seat overlooking the bustling sidewalk you become an integral part of this historic corner. The Grill also offers complete Lunch Service and a variety of Daily Specials to please the most discriminating palate. Full Bar Service is available along with an affordable award winning wine list. The Grill Management and Staff is excited for you to stop by with family and friends to experience The Allen Street Grill, 100 West College Avenue on the second floor, taking your dining experience to a higher level!
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great venue- what happened to the food?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was our first time back since leaving campus 4 years ago. My husband and I used to eat here quite often and can't remember a bad experience.... until now. The soups were lukewarm, the entrees took forever, we never were offered bread. When I asked about the 'signature salads', I was told they were huge portions and not to disappoint. Umm.. my Orient Salad looked like scraps of whatever was left in the kitchen served on a plate a bit bigger than my empty bread plate. Husband got a very fatty Jack Roadhouse steak. Anyway- it was nice to go back and had many nostalgic memories, hopefully will forget this one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HobokenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    71
    43
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg
Level Contributor
248 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Diverse menu choices, nice wine selection, nostalgic venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We often eat here when in the SC area. Located on the 2nd floor of the Hotel State College (on the corner of College Ave. and Allen) and above the "Corner Room", we find it well placed when shopping downtown. We were here for Arts Fest 2014 and chose the Allen Street Grill for our dinner because of the proximity to the Allen Street stage (which we had just come from after listening to an Arts Fest performance), AND because we have always enjoyed their menu. We find the salad selections to be excellent, the seafood choices interesting and tasty, and the wine selection is good as well. My husband had the "Jack's Roadhouse Salad" which had sweet and spicy tenderloin tips over romaine, shoestring fires, veggies & blue cheese dressing, and I had the crab ravioli with shrimp glaze. Both were excellent. This is a moderately expensive restaurant, but we feel it is a good fit for us. Their lunch and dinner menus are diverse enough to accommodate most people, the atmosphere is pleasant, and the wait staff are pleasant. The Allen Street Grill is always one of our top choices for dinner when we are in the area, and considering this experience, they will continue to be on our "top 5" list! Good job Allen Street Grill!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nittfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Need to up the game on food quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Love the windows and views. Very good service. Bring up the quality of the food and all would be fantastic. Really disappointed in starter of crab bisque. Lukewarm and far to much cream. Main dishes were Ok... Nothing special. Would not return based on food quality.

Helpful?
Thank Chris63Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Atomsphere better than food and service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I ate here on a Saturday night to celebrate her birthday and our anniversary. In fact, when I made the reservations, they asked if it was a special occasion and I explained the dual celebration. Not sure why they asked because there was no acknowledgement of it when we there. Anyway, the service was okay. The waitress was obviously a college student who did what she was supposed to do but was clueless when it came to questions about the food or wine. The food was also okay but nothing to rave above. The best part of the experience was sitting on the second floor with a window view of the campus. We attended Penn State 39 years ago as newlyweds and it was fun reminiscing about the good ol' days. While we were there, two couples were having wedding photos taking on the lawn of Old Main. Not a bad night after all!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank itsfordoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Okay food, great atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We ate here while we were visiting the State College area. The service and atmosphere were great but the food wasn't all that wonderful. In addition to some other dinner items we had the blackened chicken pasta salad and the crabcake sandwich. The chicken in the pasta salad was some of the most over-spiced chicken I've ever had. Perhaps it was just my plate but everyone at my table tried some and agreed it was horrible. The crabcake was okay--nothing special at all. We probably wont be visiting this establishment again (expect maybe to have a drink or two).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skdphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allen Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Allen Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing