We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wobbly table and not hot food”
Review of Down Under Steak House - CLOSED

Down Under Steak House
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Toftrees - meaning "Home among the trees" - is nestled amid 1,500 scenic wooded acres in beautiful Centre County, Pennsylvania.The view is inescapable. Sophistication and charm are reflected in every direction. Elegance and a relaxed ambience surround you amid the splendor of this natural and pristine setting in the heart of Pennsylvania's panoramic landscape.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We arrived on time for our 6pm reservation and were shown to a table for two that was against a ledge, squeezed between an occupied table and the bar, even though there were unoccupied booths for two nearby and the restaurant was not busy. We had to move our table down so that I could sit. We soon discovered our table was very wobbly. My husband put 3-4 sugar packets under the leg to stabilize it. Anyone who walked past our table had to turn sideways to fit between us and the bar. What a stupid arrangement.

Our appetizer arrived hot and was delicious. Our meal arrived warm, not hot, and tasted good. Had the food been hot, it would have been delicious. Not planning to return soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon S, Manager at Down Under Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Christy M.,

We at the Down Under want to send our sincerest apologies your way! We are sorry to hear that the dining experience was not all you had hoped it would be and that the seating was difficult. We will definitely be sure to adress our seating arrangements - especially on nights with a busy bar crowd. We will also share the message with our Chef and culinary staff to address any temperature issues and be sure that hot food is coming out just that way - hot. We realize we are not perfect, but getting feedback like this allows us the opportunity to make efforts in the right direction, and for that we thank you! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your appetizer, and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Down Under Steak House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 92 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had experienced a long travel day and it was great to relax and enjoy a nice meal. The Asparagus/Crab soup was a surprise treat and Danielle was a sweet and very attentive waitress.

Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Down Under Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Chris F,

Thanks for the 5 star review. We appreciate the positive feedback and will make sure to keep the Crab Bisque soup as a feature item from time to time. We will also be sure to thank Danielle for providing excellent customer service and attention during your meal. We hope you come back and see us again real soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stopped in the Down Under on my way through State College recently. Nice atmosphere for part of a hotel/resort. I ordered a cup of soup and the Toftrees burger- both delicious. My server was Kathleen and she was very attentive and a great waitress. On my way out I asked a young lady Shannon (she said she was a manager) for directions back to where I was going and she helped right away and got me back on track. Overall I would say the restaurant has great food and service- worth a stop on your way through!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Down Under Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Cheryl G,

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful experience at the Down Under Steakhouse! We appreciate all the great comments and recognition of Kathleen and Shannon. They are true assets to our operation and we are please to hear that they were able to provide such a memorable experience for you! We hope on your next trip through town you will stop in and see us again! Safe travels and we hope you have a great year in 2014!

All the Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had guests at the hotel for the weekend and ate most of our meals in the restaurant. Everyone was very satisfied during each visit.

Thank jw102476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Down Under Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear JW 102476,

Thanks for the very kind words about the restuarant food and its staff. We take great pride in trying to exceed all of our guests expectations and are glad to see this happened with your experience. We hope to see you back at the restaurant soon!

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The cheese dip was out of this world. The steak and fish were cooked to perfection. We were dying to try a dessert, but we were just too full. We did, however go back for breakfast. (also amazing) I recommend this restaurant, not only to guests, but to the locals also. Very cosy and not prcy and delicious!

Thank kimd0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Down Under Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Kim0503,

Thanks for the great review of the Down Under Steak House at Toftrees Resort! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Four Cheese Fondue and hope you will be back soon to give it a try again. As the weather cools off we are starting to utilize our fireplace and it makes for an incredible ambiance in the dining room. We hope you will be back to see us soon and wish you all the best with your Business.

All the Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down Under Steak House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing