We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite Hotel Near Penn State”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We enjoyed this new hotel very much in most aspects: fabulous deluxe free breakfast, including make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs, as well as the usual continental breakfast fare. The indoor pool was very nice and is adjacent to a small fitness room. My only complaint was insufficient lounge chairs around the pool (none.) Large windows are along the east side of the pool where you can see a very nice outdoor flower-lined patio with two lounge chairs and two tables with chairs. I went out there to put down my stuff only to realize that there was no re-entry, the door locked behind me. There was a sign to that effect, but I didn't notice it until I was let back in. Though obviously for security reasons, this was very perplexing as most people like to lounge by the pool and come and go from their chair/lounge . I left a towel in the door so I could come and go without bothering anyone in the pool area!

The room was very nice, TV a bit small for my aging eyes. Extras in the room included an air freshener which was a very nice touch. Worth the money, but they should do something to make their pool area more visitor friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Candy530324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 519 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2007

Excellent staff, very friendly and genunely concerned about opur stay.

Free hot breakfast was as good as you should expect. A clean, roomy space to eat, the staff keeping it stocked was very attentive. I was there on a weekend the hotel was 100% occupied with a lot of kids but they handled everything very well.

The breakfast is a great way to start the day and save the aggrevation of finding something outside the hotel.

The room was clean and in great condition.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2006

The Marriott Spring Hill suite is on par with the other major large hotels in the area. I have stayed at the Hampton Inn next door and the Hilton Garden Inn next college ave. Being a frequent state college visitor, I have to say that the rooms here are above average to excellent in comparison to the Hilton or Hampton Suites. They are modern and extremely large. The rooms at the Hampton in are way to small to be considered a "suite". And Marriott suite's have a half kitchen (sink, microwave, fridge, no stove). Not quite sure what you can do with that... maybe just chill some beers if you're watching the penn state game from your room.

As far as the free breakfast goes, it is just slightly better than the free breakfast served at the Hampton Inn suite next door. If you want a hearty warm breakfast, I suggest you drive to Denny or Eat n Park a few blocks down the street. You will not get a full breakfast here.

The room for some reason smells moldy. The swimming pool here is indoors, unlike the Hampton Inn, which is out doors. So if you want to lounge in the sun by the pool, I suggest you stay at the Hampton. The exercise room here is also tiny. About 3 machines.

One of the big pluses was that the front desk had free hairspray, contact lens solutions, and toothpaste... for those who were not allow to bring them aboard their flights. That was a huge plus since I forgot to stop by the convenience store to pick some up at 11pm.

Overrall I would say the room is on average bigger and better than other comparable hotels. They are modern and clean. The free interent connection is also a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2005

Friendly staff, well kept and clean hotel located in Williamsburg Square. Convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OCC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2004

I stayed at the SpringHill Suites while in State College on business for one week in December '04. The hotel was built in 2002, so everything inside was very new. While not offering wi-fi, I had no problems with the high speed internet. The only problem I experienced with the hotel was that the pool and hot tub were closed for my entire stay. When I asked the staff about this, they apologized and even offered to put an additional 2000 rewards points in my Marriott account. (I would have rather had the hot tub but the rewards points was a nice touch.)

  • Stayed: December 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AJGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gisella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAGM, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Federico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSAGM, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#10 of 26 in State College
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College

Address: 1935 Waddle Rd, Williamsburg Square, State College, PA 16803-1639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in State College
#7 Romantic Hotel in State College
#7 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $104 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Award Winning SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College! Our lobby, guestrooms, breakfast area, and meeting space create a stylish look and modern feel that will leave you feeling relaxed, refreshed, rejuvenated, and re-energized.Take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or simply enjoy the relaxing jets of our jacuzzi. Help yourself to some freshly brewed coffee, tea, or hot chocolate as you wait in our lobby for a friend. Need directions or suggestions on local hot spots or things to do? Stop by our front desk. Our friendly and informed associates are always eager to help. We're only a six to eight minute drive from wonderful restaurants. Our hotel is also close to Pennsylvania State University, near Beaver Stadium. SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College is the only all-studio suite choice among State College hotels. Enhanced by service that will delight both the business and leisure traveler We offer free WiFi, refrigerators, and microwaves in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites State College Hotel State College
State College Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing