We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but American collection is interesting”

Palmer Museum of Art
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but American collection is interesting”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have been here twice and the exhibits were changed between visits but they were 3 years apart. Collection of old PA town lithographs/intaglios and watercolors were interesting as well. The changes in the towns from then to now is dramatic. The collection was from the owners of the Tavern on College Avenue where they hung on the wall. What I loved, my husband "didn't get" and what he loved, I liked. There is a little of this and a little of that. I was surprised the shop did not seem to carry much local artisan and PS graduate works.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skiqueen500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Really Great Small Museum”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a great place to visit during downtime on a business trip. The museum has an amazing collection of artworks. Very friendly and well done overall.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelinBob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Palmer Museum of Art is interesting. While certainly not a destination, it is something worth seeing if you have an hour or two to kill in the State College Area. The museum has a wide variety of artists--mostly American, but some Dutch and Italian paintings are featured, as well as a large collection of Mesoamerican and Asian pottery. The collection features many captivating pieces that evoke a variety of time periods and mediums. It is very professionally done and the museum itself is well-kept.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stop if you're in the Penn State area”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

There isn't an admission fee which is nice especially if you're rushed for time. The museum appears to be well maintained and taken care of and the art is displayed in a very nice manner. I enjoyed the walk through I took and I hope to come back again when I have more time. Very nice collection.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Central PA Highlight”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Palmer Museum of Art is a highlight in Central Pennsylvania. A small museum, easy to get around and see, and beautifully designed. It gives a whirlwind tour of art through the ages on the first floor and contemporary art on the second floor, with several special shows on exhibit at any one time (40th anniversary and works on paper right now). The Chilhuly sea form at the base of the stairs is breathtaking with the sun streaming in (scroll down on this page to see a photo: http://flickriver.com/groups/interesting_at_psu/pool/interesting/) ! And don't miss the wonderful collection of ceramics from ancient China, through PreColumbian, to ceramic artists of the past 50 years. So worth the trip!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyMeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmer Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Palmer Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing