We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Clarion, PA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the money”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice, but could use some updates. We stayed on the 4th floor and it literally took 10 minutes for the hot water to get to us. Also, the pool was freezing when we were there and you really couldn't enjoy it, which was a bummer for the kids.
The rooms are nice size the staff is friendly. There is no free breakfast here, though as a HHonors Gold member we could have had 2 free. Go to the Waffle Shop instead :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank paclarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us . Sorry about the hot water. We had problems with one of our water heaters that evening and replaced it the following day. Thank you for staying with us and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    154
    49
    18
    5
See reviews for
218
73
22
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
�����
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This Hilton Garden Inn is conveniently located near the Penn State campus and downtown State College. Staff is helpful, rooms are clean and very comfortable. We've stayed here numerous times, it's our favorite hotel in State College!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We are very happy to hear we are your favorite hotel in State College. I will be sure to share your positive comments with our staff. Thank you for staying with us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honesdale, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel twice. It is located in a part of town that makes any event easily accessible. The staff is always so helpful and accommodating. The small bar and restaurant provide a nice escape (when needed) from the high energy college town. The breakfast is always very good. We love staying here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and hotel facilities. We appreciate your loyalty and will look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Check in was quick and the accomodations were great. Newer hotel so the lobby was impressive and rooms were clean and comfortable. There was no information around about wifi so you're figuring that out on your own or calling the front desk. Harrison's was a nice bar/restaurant (only had drinks), but they close at 9pm on a Saturday, which was a little weird. Went up for a PSU game and felt like we were close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments on our hotel facilities and restaurant. We recently have renovated our lobby and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

MJ at the front desk was very helpful and is to be commended. The major complaint I have is that the HVAC fans in the rooms are VERY loud. I had a hard time sleeping comfortably as the fans were located in close proximity to the bed. My colleague had the same complaint. Other than that the staff were very friendly, clean rooms and hallways, and that balanced the issue with the loud fans.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Pleased to hear our friendly service and clean accommodations offset the noisy fan. Your comments will help us correct the issue and hope we have the opportunity to serve you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My experience with Hilton Garden Inn's has always been excellent and I would recommend them to anyone! It can sometimes be a gamble staying in unknown areas. It has been my experience even at some chain hotels (where you would expect the quality to be the same throughout the chains). I have gained a trust that the quality of the Hilton Garden Inn will always be up to our standards and theirs! My family feels comfortable when booking and staying at any Hilton Garden Inn. We appreciate that and it feels good to have trust in where you are staying when traveling!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Pleased to hear our friendly service and clean accommodations offset the noisy fan in your room. Your comments will help us correct this issue and hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Overall it was a pleasant hotel experience. Some things could improve. The breakfast bar staff could smile and be pleasant. Eating with an attendant that has an attitude problem is not very pleasant. The room was good, but I found it interesting that the furnishings were all modern and very nice, but the shower faucet seemed outdated and non-user friendly (at least to what I am used to) they should consider upgrading. The mattress adjustment seemed nice, but didn't really seem to be that effective.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Happy to hear your overall experience with us was pleasant. We are very sorry you experienced a lower level of customer service during breakfast and we have addressed this issue. We appreciate you alerting us to this and we hope you will give us another chance when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.1 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
758 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
554 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn State College

Property: Hilton Garden Inn State College
Address: 1221 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in State College
#9 Family Hotel in State College
#10 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn State College 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in State College, PA is located only one half mile from Beaver Stadium, Lubrano Park/Medlar Field Baseball Stadium, and The Bryce Jordan Center. Plus, we're located one mile south of the Penn State University campus and downtown State College (with a plethora of specialty shops, theater and popular restaurants in the downtown area). Choose from several comfortable guest rooms, or upgrade to one of our luxurious suites that include a separate living area and sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary WiFi, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, comfortable seating areas, a work desk with ergonomic chair as well as other room amenities, including granite bathroom counter tops. Guests who stay at Hilton Garden Inn State College enjoy: our fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool, business center with complimentary printing, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market(R), room service, our on-site restaurant and lounge, and more. Plan your next meeting, conference, wedding or event at our hotel with more than 2,300 sq. ft. of adaptable event and/or meeting space. We make wedding planning easy with our Personalized Online Group Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn State College Hotel State College
Hilton State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing