We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice change” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kildare's - CLOSED

Kildare's
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pub, American, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: More than just Guinness.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Food is not typical choices and good quality which is nice. Service today was not great due to a PSU bar tour and one waiter for the whole place. But it's not usually like that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Irish Pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We enjoy Kildares! It is a cool atmosphere and they have nice food and beer selection! The Irish breakfast is great as well! We frequently visit here and it's right in the downtown area so it's always a great place to stop while walking around town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessy1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Irish Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I ate here with a group of friends during a business conference. We had a group of 5 that needed separate checks for food & alcohol, individually. The waiter was happy to accommodate us. I ordered the traditional Irish stew. It was like the stew I ate on a trip it Ireland. The mashed potatoes were in the center of the bowl surrounded by the stew. It was great tasting. Of course, I can't go to an Irish Pub without having a traditional Guiness. Well, I had two. This pub is the home of the perfect pint, and again, the Guiness was poured as it is in Ireland. That is pour it at a 45 degree angle & fill it 3/4 full. Let it settle & then top it off. The Perfect Pint as advertised at Kildare's. great food and a great atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clyde12a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My son loves the filling Irish meals, and Sundays they have great discounts on them. My son loves the filling Irish meals, and Sundays they have great discounts on them. They have some kind of specials every day, and lots of beer choices. We have been there about ten to a dozen times. Buffalo Shrimp Salad is tasty, and my guys like the Irish nachos made from potatoes.They have some kind of specials every day, and lots of beer choices. We have been there about ten to a dozen times. Buffalo Shrimp Salad is tasty, and my guys like the Irish nachos made from potatoes for an appetizer. Boxty, vegetable with portobellos, red peppers, guiness onions is great, as is the chicken with mushrooms and cheese. Sons also like the Guiness stew, the shepherd's pie, and the burgers. I like that they will sub the burger for a grilled chicken breast! TVs have games on, and we had the good fortune to be there during a Penguin vs Flyers game, and there was good comradery, but that night the Flyers won (yeah!). Soccer games fun, too. My son and I really enjoyed watching games while we eat and chat, and it is one of the places where he has not been made to feel young or odd because he does not have a beer with his meal. May have a wait during busy times. Student servers are mainly friendly and work hard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenlef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, great beer selection, great food. Always a top choice to go back to.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LUGA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kildare's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing