We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience for very young”

Discovery Space of Central Pennsylvania
Attraction details
York, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good experience for very young”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a nice children's hands-on center a few blocks away from the crowds of Penn State area. It was fairly costly for a family of four. The hands on exhibits were good and the enthusiastic college assistants was welcome to help the children understand and enjoy the exhibits. Would have rated it higher were it not for the high price for such a small place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dar019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverySpace, Director of Sales at Discovery Space of Central Pennsylvania, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your review about Discovery Space. We appreciate all comments. ***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Discovery Space, State College”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

When our family in State College asked for an the price of an annual family pass for this facility, we sent money from the UK to cover it. When we visited in March 2013, we had a visit there with them all, and our 2 granddaughters loved it. They have been before, but liked that they recognised some of the existing displays to play with, and took great pleasure in showing them to their grandparents. Also on the day we visited was a demonstration about cocoa beans (complete with chocolate samples!), and it was fun. Our family has also discovered that their annual pass covers them for entry into other attraction throughout the USA, so when we went to Philadelphia with them for a 5 day trip this year, we were all delighted to find the pass covered them for the Franklin Institute there. They had a great day. So all round, threee cheers for Discovery Space...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnc185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverySpace, Marketing Manager at Discovery Space of Central Pennsylvania, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate Discovery Space, our children's museum, on TripAdvisor. We're happy your whole family enjoyed their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not alot for the money”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited about a year ago. We got in at a discounted rate. Even with the discount it really didn't seem like there was much to do for the cost. We spent about 45 minutes there before we ran out of things to do. Also, the parking was somewhat of a pain.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyrdestroyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“if you love kid's stuff and science, you gonna love this”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I went there with my gf. That was back in 2012 summer. We have a very good time together there. Lots of cool science toys. Staff there is very nice as well. They have tornado simulation, flight simulation, physics toys, doll house, etc.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank phoenix_AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hands on for little ones”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hands on for children. A nice change from electronics. They have the opportunity to manually explore ideas and see how it works out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank burdjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Space of Central Pennsylvania also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Space of Central Pennsylvania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing