We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Valley Hotel (PA)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penn Stater Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Attended a conference and stayed at the Penn Stater 3 nights. The room was clean, somewhat institutional, but comfortable. It is a little difficult to maneuver back and forth from the conference center since the venue is oddly configured. This is probably because the original building was a former Scanticon. The food was passable, nothing special. All-in-all it does serve the purpose of making it unnecessary to leave the premises which is good when business needs to be conducted all day. Yes, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor or above so that the hotel can be accessed from elevators in the conference...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocGlo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Penn Stater Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 568 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Penn State in the fall is always beautiful and the Penn Stater offered many amenties making this trip a winner. The staff are wonderful very knowledgable and eager to assist with making your stay comfortable. Take advantage of the free shuttle service..and the advice on area eateries and shopping!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Staff was very helpful, and they seemed to enjoy their jobs.
Their breakfast and brunch was very good, and an excellent value. Be sure to make a reservation if it is a football weekend.
They also run a shuttle bus to and from the football stadium, so you can save some money on football parking.
It was a bit pricy, but all local places are on a football weekend.
After the 4OT win over Michigan, they kept the restaurant open late.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnW1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This gem of a hotel is located a bit off the beaten path in Innovation Park near State College. It offers great access to the highway, two restaurants on-site, and a very clean hotel. The staff is attentive and accommodating. If you want to walk to downtown it will be a hike, but for a Penn State football game it's doable.

Room Tip: I reserved a Suite, it gave us more room and worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pincity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Although this hotel is not really walking distance to any of the Penn State campus, take advantage of the free shuttle service. The drivers are friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The door to door service was a treat! The hotel was clean, neat and all the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have been staying here over many years, and in particular for football weekends. Rooms are always clean and well maintained. The front desk Team is 2nd to none. They are under a lot of pressure and always have a smile and kind word, even under very high pressure situations. Best Place to stay in State College, University Park/Penn State. WE ARE!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlions1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our team. They truly want to take care of every one of our guests, in any situation! We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and to our team and look forward to seeing you on many weekends to come. WE ARE...PENN STATE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here 4 or five times over the years and it’s probably one of the better places to stay in State College. This is fairly new compared to a lot of the other options. (days inn) It has plenty of parking and if you have any events scheduled at the conference center, of course it’s the place to stay. It’s a few miles away from campus, so its not as convenient as the Atherton or Nittany lion inn. The restaurant is very good for breakfast. We always seem to get the room at the other end of the conference center which is a very long walk. The room it self is decent, although the design is somewhat odd. If you put a little prep island in the room for the frig and coffee maker, a little sink would be nice. The shower was OK as was the bed, both were nothing special. The room is clean but showing a little wear. The lobby is really nice with the fireplace and seating area. The Staff is fantastic. It services its purpose for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for something closer to the main entrance.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. Please know that we would like every opportunity to customize your room based on your preferences. We have two different mattress types, including Temperpedic, as well as various pillow types to make your stay comfortable. Many of our rooms do also have sinks in the wet bar, so please let us know if we can add this to your standard list of room requests during upcoming stays. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
795 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,322 reviews
3.0 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Stater Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Stater Conference Center

Address: 215 Innovation Blvd, State College, PA 16803-6603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in State College
#6 Family Hotel in State College
#8 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range: $127 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penn Stater Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Stater Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn State Hotel State College
Penn State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing