We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penn Stater Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Penn Stater recently for a football game. We were able to get in off the waitlist which we were happy about given how crazy game weekends are, but unfortunately our stay was just adequate.

Positives- the rooms were clean and good sized. The shuttle bus ran as advertised to and from the drop off point at the stadium and was included in the price. The young staff was friendly

Negatives- the beds were rock hard. To say this hotel has no character would be an understatement. It looks like a school, hospital or prison from the outside and the interiors don't do anything to change those impressions.
It is located off on its own about 10 minutes from campus with nothing at all around it (30-60 minutes after the game due to traffic). The shuttle buses did compensate for this somewhat

The price gauging that goes on during game weekends is not unique to the penn stater, but unfortunately I am reviewing this specific hotel based on the value for the money and it wasn't there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sek07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Penn Stater Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 571 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The first thing you will notice when you arrive is the professionalism of the front desk staff. They are helpful and efficient. Check in was a breeze. The rooms very clean and spacious. Would recommend asking for one in the new building-close to elevators as the halls can be long. The bar on lower level is very nice and had a nice selecition of food at good prices. Best part of staying in this nice hotel was the shuttle service to and from the downtown area especially if you are going bar hopping which is great fun in State College.
The conference facilities are fabulous and the wait staff very professional. The folks who clean the rooms are also very friendly and welcoming and do a great job.
Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel is convenient, clean, and nice. Beware of conferences in the conference center though. A conference center without free WIFI? Isn’t that like a restaurant without food? Even if staying in the hotel, wifi is only offered fee-based in the conference center the at&t wifi ($4 per session). Free Wifi in the rooms is offered. Penn State has taken its quest for a dollar a step too far. Conference goers beware!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stay at the Penn Stater every year and love the room and service provided. It is so convenient to stay here when the conference is also at the Penn Stater. My work stay is like a mini vacation when you stay at the Penn Stater.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprylK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a nice hotel. Very clean. Very helpful staff. My friend and I stayed here on a Saturday night as our friend's wedding reception was in the hotel. The only negative is that you can hear all noise from the hallway. Thankfully folks were not loud after 11pm but if they had been, it would have been impossible to sleep. Not sure what they can do about it - get heavier doors?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuidedbyGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a great hotel! Courteous, efficient and friendly staff all around --- modern and spacious accommodations --- and a shuttle to/from the ballgame. Anyone traveling to State College for a ballgame would do well to choose PSCC --- A.K.A. "The Penn Stater".

Yes, even the fans of the visiting team are treated like the most important visitor they have. The management obviously goes out of its way to instill a superlative sense of professionalism in every staff member.

If we have the occasion to return to State College --- we will definitely stay at the PSCC.

Room Tip: being in an business park --- I don't believe there is a bad room. External disturbances/traffi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVaughn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Solid choice if you're in town for Penn State athletics as it's just a couple of miles from Beaver Stadium and other athletic facilities (bonus: gameday football shuttle). Common space is nicely done, rooms could use an update (namely the bedding) but are clean and sufficient. On-site restaurant a decent option. Note you'll definitely need a car here as there is nothing adjacent to the hotel. Ample and easy parking situation (no charge). Very quiet. Staff is very friendly. Would likely return as it's likely one of the best of available options in State College.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
795 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
563 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,325 reviews
3.0 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Stater Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Stater Conference Center

Address: 215 Innovation Blvd, State College, PA 16803-6603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in State College
#6 Family Hotel in State College
#8 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range: $127 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penn Stater Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Stater Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn State Hotel State College
Penn State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing