We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
“Good Value!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Clean, comfortable, quiet, friendly staff. 5-10 min to everywhere I needed to be during an extended stay for a conference. The fridge in the room and included breakfast helped save money overall. Breakfast items weren't anything spectacular... meats were a little greasy and eggs were lukewarm -- but it was nice that there were hot items available. Pool and hot tub area are indoors and kept very clean, a nice way to unwind at the end of the day and felt like a bonus at this price point. Try the brewpub across the street for a good evening meal!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty Donley M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, August 10, 2014
I it always a pleasure to hear from our guests,especially those who have experienced our hotel for the first time,and enjoyed their stay. We have so much to offer our guests and with our rates being very comparable to other hotels in town, our guests love that we are just a few minutes from Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordan Center,and even the Penn Sate campus! We thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    211
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
460
109
36
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
State College, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel was very clean and the staff was nice. I did not use the pool or workout facilities. The breakfast was vey good. The kids in the hotel seemed to enjoy the pool very much. I did not encounter any issues when I was staying here, so I can't comment on the staff fixing issues. The hotel is very close to Penn State campus, which is why we chose is since we were there for a soccer tournament on campus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Ailena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I am glad you like our elaborate breakfast, there are plenty of options both in hot and cold food.Our indoor pool is heated and it is a great space for the kids to have fun. The hotel is located just a mile from the Penn State campus, easy access to the football stadium and the hockey arena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apollo, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Clean and quite, Great Staff. Highly recommended this hotel. They started the breakfast early for the soccer teams that had a early game. Great for family stay. We are planning to stay again here next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate your comments, i am glad you had a great stay while staying with us. We do an extensive Breakfast Buffet, we are glad that you enjoyed it. We hope to see you next year and feel free to call Ashley in our Sales Office and she will be happy to work with you to accommodate your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Tonawanda, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hi, Whenever in need of a place to stay, please consider the Country inns & Suites. The place is spotless, the staff is very accommodating, and the room we stayed in was just right. There were 2 of us and we each had our own Queen Size comfy bed! The rooms are also equipped with a refrigerator and a microwave. And if this wasn't all, a complimentary breakfast is offered. A terrific variety of foods at this self-serve breakfast is a great way to start your day. Lemonade is flowing all day as well as a coffee and tea station with wonderful gooey cookies and bananas! The staff, again, couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. We had a wonderful stay and i know you will too! Please consider the Country Inns & Suites. You won't be disappointed. I bet on it! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Vicky J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I am glad you had a great staying at our hotel! The entire team takes great pride in providing a great experience to all of our guests. During the warm weather we do provide complimentary lemonade and in the winter we will switch over hot chocolate or warm cider (as long as it is available) Warm cookies are available every day and all day long. Whenever you are visiting State College again, we hope to see you and we will give you the same service again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Country Inn & Suites in State College, PA is definitely the place you want to stay if you are visiting the Penn State area. The hotel is new and very well maintained. My room was spacious, very clean and I got a good nightly rate. They have free wifi, an indoor pool, a spa and a fitness center. They also offer a free breakfast. However, those are just the basics. The main reason that this is a great place to stay is the staff. The people working at this hotel are not only friendly, polite, professional and very well trained, but they really do care about their customers. I was only staying one night, but they made me feel important and well looked after from the moment I walked in. Although this was a busy weekend for them, shortly after I got to my room I received a call from the front desk checking to make sure everything was ok. This impressed me. What impressed me even more was when members of the housekeeping staff knocked on my door (without being called). They wanted to make sure that they had filled my request for pillows without feathers (submitted with my online reservation, and not mentioned at check-in). I do not often see this kind of attention to detail when I stay at a hotel, but apparently, it is an ordinary thing at the Country Inn & Suites in State College, PA. I can only imagine the pleasant surprises I would have had if I had stayed for longer than one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are the newest hotel in State College.We at the Country Inn & Suites take tremendous pride in providing the best service every day to all of our guests. I am sorry you had a short stay this time, on your next trip please plan to spend a few days and enjoy the facility but more importantly enjoy the community that we all live and work in. We Are Penn State. We look forward to seeing you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2014

At 07:00 there was no hot water in the room. We had booked two nights but did not stay a second. The manager was quite rude and made no attempt to compensate for the issue. I will never stay at one of these hotels again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
1 Thank 66th0mash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are very sorry that you did not have an opportunity to enjoy a nice hot shower. I have personally spoken to the Manger on Duty and counselled him on how to address issues like yours. We normally do not have any issues related to hot water as we have a large enough capacity to replenish the usage. We did have a large group of young adults staying at the hotel that where going out to play soccer that morning and that could have been the reason. However, I do apologize for the inconvenience. We would appreciate if you would give us another opportunity to provide the service that we usually deliver every day to all of our guests. We do look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfordsburg, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent at the State College Country Inns & Suites. The rooms were big enough to move around in comfortably, the bathrooms were also big. Our room had a refrigerator that was already cold and the beds were comfortable. We will definitely stay there again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
237 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
82 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing