We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a business stay. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Mohnton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a business stay. ”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in October on a conference trip. Couldn't bear another stay at the Ramada the conference was at.
What a surprise! Check-in was a breeze, front desk clerk made us feel like we were family coming to stay. King size room was a real bargain for the price, and was in spotless condition. I think the hotel is pretty new. Very comfortable bed, lots of outlets to charge all the junk I travel with. Roomy bathroom with a huge shower.
Coffee in the lobby seemed to be available 24/7, and pretty good. Breakfast seemed mediocre+, but I only really care about the coffee.
The staff were all great, and appeared to like working there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank raskage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki W, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in your future travels to Happy Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    218
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
475
114
36
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were attending a concert at St College and didn't want to drive home late so we booked what seemed to be one of the last rooms in St College for the night. This was a first time stay at Country Inns but a very enjoyable one. We checked in then went to dinner and then on to the concert so not a lot of time in the hotel. We left in the morning after a wonderful hot breakfast. We found the hotel to be all that was advertised - clean, friendly and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly even though busy with quite a few sign ins at the time. It was close to the concert site so only a few minutes driving time. Although we have never stayed at Country Inns previously, we will keep it in mind for future trips.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor but we were not bothered by noise of other cars coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendtraveler049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki W, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we are thankful you enjoyed your accomodations. Hope to see you next time you visit State College.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a very pleasant one night stay in this new, modern hotel. Spacious room and huge shower were a nice surprise. A/C works great and is quiet. Room had fridge and microwave. Nice breakfast and good coffee. Friendly staff and lots of good eats nearby. No complaints!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meAOPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki W, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your nice words and hope to see you in your future travels to State College.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Country Inn & Suites in State College is a relatively new hotel for the region. It is easy to access and parking is plentiful. One is welcomed with a warm, homey atmosphere upon entering; the hotel and the staff is genuinely friendly,as though they might be your neighbors. The suite we have stayed in two different times is exceedingly clean with comfortable furniture and high quality bedding. The prices (particularly on non-football weekends) are very reasonable. It is now our first choice when traveling back "home" to Happy Valley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki W, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing Country Inn as your home away from home! We appreciate the warm thoughts, kind words, and look forward to seving your future hospitality needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our two night stay for the Kent State football game couldn't have been better. Very nice, clean and quiet hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Located right outside downtown State College, for quick easy access. Offered Hot Chocolate, Coffee and Cookies in the lobby for the guests. It will be my hotel of choice when I return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki W, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Happy to hear such kind words from our guests and appreciate your feedback. We will look forward to having you back at the Country Inn & Suites in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very clean and reasonably priced. We stayed in the King suite and the extra living space was perfect. The complimentary breakfast was very good and the entire staff was exceptional. They were all so friendly. They made you feel like they knew you for years and were very helpful. About a mile from downtown and easy access to PSU. A great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan7205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki W, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us here at the Country Inn and Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Country Inn for 3 nights for a conference and was very pleased. The room and bathroom was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts had a lot if variety everyday and l took advantage of the gym and indoor pool everyday. I will definitely be staying here again for future conferences.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shc315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Please visit with us again when you come back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
547 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
784 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing