We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and the staff is exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and the staff is exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very clean and reasonably priced. We stayed in the King suite and the extra living space was perfect. The complimentary breakfast was very good and the entire staff was exceptional. They were all so friendly. They made you feel like they knew you for years and were very helpful. About a mile from downtown and easy access to PSU. A great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan7205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki W, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us here at the Country Inn and Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    205
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
444
109
36
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Country Inn for 3 nights for a conference and was very pleased. The room and bathroom was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts had a lot if variety everyday and l took advantage of the gym and indoor pool everyday. I will definitely be staying here again for future conferences.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shc315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Please visit with us again when you come back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, delicious free breakfast! Great place to stay if your here to visit you child at the college. Located very close to the college. Easy drive to the campus. You can earn points towards free rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. I hope you got a chance to join Club Carlson. The points add up quickly when visiting your child at Penn State. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Dropping off our daughter freshmen year we saw this hotel being built. Over the last two years it’s been our favorite place to stay along with the Nittany Lion Inn. This definitely more reasonably priced and much more modern given its only two years old. The location is great, 5 minutes from the university. The showers are big, but the showerhead could use a little help. Water saver showers are annoying at 200+ a night. The staff is great and very friendly. We usually make other plans for breakfast but the buffet looks very good. There’s a gas station next door, which saves times on the way out. A very pleasant hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This motel was great after a long trip on interstate. Easy off/on interstate. Staff excellent, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast outstanding - fresh bacon and scrambled eggs plus the usual breakfast motel bar eats. Room very large, quite and very clean. Great mattress and pillows! Would definitely go out of my way to stay here again. Less than 2 yr old facility. Wonderful personnel thruout.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor at side of property. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located just off the highway, and only a short drive from the downtown, the local shopping mall and all local college attractions, yet in a very quiet location.
The hotel was clean, well maintained and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was more than enough to get us started the next day. Would definitely stay here again the next time we pass through State College.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wally434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and felt extremely welcome the entire time. Huge room, great housekeeping, super-friendly staff. The breakfast was good, the shuttle was available to for quick rides. The main downtown area is about a mile down the road, so you're close enough to get good food and drink, but far enough away so that it's not a party hotel. It's very difficult to think of anything negative. The breakfast got repetitive, but any hotel breakfast gets respective after a week. Great hotel

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Address: 1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing