We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located just off the highway, and only a short drive from the downtown, the local shopping mall and all local college attractions, yet in a very quiet location.
The hotel was clean, well maintained and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was more than enough to get us started the next day. Would definitely stay here again the next time we pass through State College.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wally434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    218
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
475
114
36
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and felt extremely welcome the entire time. Huge room, great housekeeping, super-friendly staff. The breakfast was good, the shuttle was available to for quick rides. The main downtown area is about a mile down the road, so you're close enough to get good food and drink, but far enough away so that it's not a party hotel. It's very difficult to think of anything negative. The breakfast got repetitive, but any hotel breakfast gets respective after a week. Great hotel

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very convenient to PSU, clean, really pleasant staff, really nice 2 night stay when moving our student into her dorm. The breakfasts are more than sufficient too. Prices are steep for the football weekends and they have a 2 night stay minimum on most of those which would discourage me from booking. They did however always have hot coffee available and cookies too so it was very homey:)

Room Tip: Upper floor was quiet if you aren't too close to the lobby stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here the evening before moving our daughter into her Penn State dorm room. We were impressed with the cleanliness and quietness of the hotel. The pool and hot tub were open until midnight which was nice, and the free breakfast was fine for us. It has an attractive lobby and helpful staff. There are books to borrow and cookies available to guests.The rooms are well appointed and as I mentioned before, they were very clean. It isn't within walking distance of the college, but certainly close enough. We will try to stay here each time we come down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Great to hear from you. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome to the Country Inn and Suites family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

In town for an interview. Stayed here as recommended by the potential employer. Clean room, good breakfast, close to Penn State Campus. I even received an upgraded room while reserving under the corporate rate, I guess they ran out of standard rooms but I had no real use for the jacuzzi, nice to know it was available though.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kholley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you get to return to the area, and will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I just stayed at this hotel and was really comfortable. The hotel is extremely clean and up-to-date. The staff was helpful and friendly, couldn't ask for a better hotel in State College. Will be coming back! Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpiranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were mostly satisfied with our stay at the Country Inn and Suites in State College Pennsylvania. When we returned to our room after spending the entire day at PSU, we were surprised to find that our room had not yet been cleaned by5:00 PM. When I inquired with the cleaning staff who were still on our floor, they indicated that our room would be next. So we left for dinner at Damon's just down the street. Upon our return 2 hours later, we were shocked to discover that the staff still had not touched our rooms. I immediately went down to the front desk and they were receptive to my complaints but were not anxious to correct the matter. I instructed them to have someone take care of the situation as soon as possible while I went to the pool to de-stress.......

The room was cleaned by 8:30 PM. Things should not have gone this far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvyLeagueBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are constantly trying to improve our guest experience. We apologize if you didn't enjoy an excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
547 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
784 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing