We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for football weekends!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for football weekends!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a newer hotel so everything is very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's not a five star hotel but you get great value. Breakfast in the morning was nice and not too crowded. After breakfast we jumped on a shuttle that took us right upto the Bryce Jordan Center. I believe the stadium is within a mile or two. Beds were comfortable and decor pleasant!

Bottom Line: Great value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomaspiorkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon.
"We Are!!!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    208
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
451
109
36
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very good place to stay for college football weekend. Nicely located for getting to Beaver Stadium. Rooms were average size and very clean. The small lobby was very comfortable. The breakfast room was large and served a decent variety of food. The shuttle service to downtown State College was a nice feature. The staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you stayed with us on your recent trip to Happy Valley. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a brand new hotel! Our two kids enjoyed the pool and free cookies at night. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful! The staff was very friendly. This was a great stay! I would definitely come back again. I am really liking the Country Inn and Suites chain more and more. I will look for this chain in the future! This is right off of the highway (322 bypass). Convenient when you're just driving through or if you're going to a Penn State game since it is very close to the football and basketball stadiums.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad to know you like The Country Inn and Suites brand. We do our best to make you feel at home. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm a big fan of Country Inn & Suites. The hotel is fairly new and very clean. The check-in desk clerks were very friendly. Breakfast was delicious and there was a good selection of food. My room was comfy and best of all...the heater blower was quiet and I had a nice hot shower in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you can stay longer next time you visit Happy Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We spent a wonderful two nights here. We were six kids under 7 and 4 adults. The staff didn't even flinch. They upgraded us to the executive suite which made our reunion weekend that much easier and more fun with all the little ones. The pool was great, the rooms modern and clean. The staff extra helpful. My one note was that the food at breakfast, although copious, was not my favorite. For instance, there was not real honey and the syrup for the waffle was not too good. But, now I am being picky. We will absolutely stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Festnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We always welcome helpful comments about all areas of our hotel. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a new hotel in State College that is very attractive. Upon arrival we were offered an upgrade to a full suite with seperate living room. that was nice. The room was nicely decorated and the facilites overall were great. There was a nice indoor pool and jacuzzi and a large dining area where a full breakfast buffet is available in the morning. The morning we were there they had rather bland scrambled eggs available and corned beef hash which was not too popular. Would have been better just to have a breakfast meat. There were two waffle machines, bagels, donuts, cereal, etc. Our biggest complaint of this hotel was the shower. There was no traction features to the shower floor. It was just smooth fiberglass. It was like a "slip and slide" and VERY dangerous. Fortunately there was a hand rail in the shower to cling to. I nearly fell a couple of times. My wife, who is disabled and uses a cane could not shower. It was just too dangerous. And that is unfortunate. I complained at the front desk and the attendant looked puzzled. I cannot believe no one else mentioned this. In any case he promised to tell the manager. We will see if they do anything about it. But they are playing Russian roulet if they don't. A guest will slip, fall and get badly hurt and they will be sued. They have been put on notice about this safety hazard so I hope they correct it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for mentioning the shower to our front desk associate. Guest safety is our #1 priority. Please rest assured that we are addressing the shower issue immediately. Next time you visit us here in Happy Valley, please ask for a rubber shower mat if there is not already one in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.E. PA
Level Contributor
312 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Here’s what you’ll need to know. The hotel and rooms are clean and well kept. The bedding is comfortable. Unlike most hotels that use window/wall units to heat/cool these are pretty quiet. If you’ve stayed at a Marriott Courtyard those units sound like an aircraft taking off. They do a good job keeping the place clean given the busy weekend conditions. The WI-FI is sloooooooow. It took 3 minutes to load a simple Google search – not acceptable. The computers in the business center were usually taken by kids play games – understandable but be advised if you’re hoping to print anything. The hotel is close to town, campus and major highways. The front desk staff was excellent. The breakfast room staff was generally nice although there was one person there who clearly was feeling the stress of a busy morning in the breakfast room. Be advised there’s no restaurant within walking distance. Our only strong negative was issues with other guests. My family had been up since 4AM that morning so we were very tired. From about 11PM there were a bunch of children running between rooms on the 4th floor, slamming doors, etc.. I have kids and I understand that kids will be kids. However, their irresponsible parents should have told them to hold down the noise and respect that there were people trying to sleep. Think they could do that – NOPE. Instead, they were having their own little party. My wife tried to complain to them but they just shut the door as she approached. This went on for about 2 hours. Unbeknownst to us there was a kids swim meet in the area and the hotel played hosts to a number of these families. I only wish the front desk would have warned us beforehand so we would have been prepared. So double check before you book here. Otherwise, it’s a nice hotel with good rates.

Room Tip: If you want sleep, ask to be placed away from the families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvDaSun222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I assure you that we are working on the internet issue. It is unfortunate that it was noisy during your stay. We take all noise complaints seriously, and do our best to address them promptly. In the future, we will review our breakfast staffing needs to make sure that we have enough employees to support each other and our guests. Thanks you for bring these issues to our attention. We take pride in providing our guests the highest level of service. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing