We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facility & Staff Excellent, Guests Not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
S.E. PA
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Facility & Staff Excellent, Guests Not”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Here’s what you’ll need to know. The hotel and rooms are clean and well kept. The bedding is comfortable. Unlike most hotels that use window/wall units to heat/cool these are pretty quiet. If you’ve stayed at a Marriott Courtyard those units sound like an aircraft taking off. They do a good job keeping the place clean given the busy weekend conditions. The WI-FI is sloooooooow. It took 3 minutes to load a simple Google search – not acceptable. The computers in the business center were usually taken by kids play games – understandable but be advised if you’re hoping to print anything. The hotel is close to town, campus and major highways. The front desk staff was excellent. The breakfast room staff was generally nice although there was one person there who clearly was feeling the stress of a busy morning in the breakfast room. Be advised there’s no restaurant within walking distance. Our only strong negative was issues with other guests. My family had been up since 4AM that morning so we were very tired. From about 11PM there were a bunch of children running between rooms on the 4th floor, slamming doors, etc.. I have kids and I understand that kids will be kids. However, their irresponsible parents should have told them to hold down the noise and respect that there were people trying to sleep. Think they could do that – NOPE. Instead, they were having their own little party. My wife tried to complain to them but they just shut the door as she approached. This went on for about 2 hours. Unbeknownst to us there was a kids swim meet in the area and the hotel played hosts to a number of these families. I only wish the front desk would have warned us beforehand so we would have been prepared. So double check before you book here. Otherwise, it’s a nice hotel with good rates.

Room Tip: If you want sleep, ask to be placed away from the families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvDaSun222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I assure you that we are working on the internet issue. It is unfortunate that it was noisy during your stay. We take all noise complaints seriously, and do our best to address them promptly. In the future, we will review our breakfast staffing needs to make sure that we have enough employees to support each other and our guests. Thanks you for bring these issues to our attention. We take pride in providing our guests the highest level of service. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    221
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
476
115
36
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have always been pleased with any of our stays at Country Inn and Suites. We went about 20 min. out of our way to stay here on our way home after a long Thanksgiving weekend, because it would feel more like home. We were traveling from NJ to Michigan, and this is 20 min. south of I-80. We decided to peek at State College and visit Penns Caverns on our way home, and Country Inn and Suites made it a viable option for our trip.

Check in was quick, easy and friendly. Little touches that make the stay? Cookies, water bottles, individual thermostats on the wall instead of on a noisy wall unit. Doors that don't slam, modern comfortable surroundings. Breakfast was a nice selection of healthy and junk. The kids enjoyed the pool and the hot tub, and the work out room was quite adequate.

I would give it five stars, but the beds were a little hard. We are also not a big fan of the square pillows.

Room Tip: Elevators are a little slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for writing a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We love the cookies too! Sure hope we can see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were in State College because our father was ill and eventually passed. We stayed at this hotel and the staff were amazing. The hotel was clean, the breakfasts were very good with several choices. The indoor pool and hot tub was a nice surprise as well. The staff were the most caring and helpful I have ever had the pleasure of being around. They went out of their way to accommodate us..for this we are most thankful. We will stay at this Country Inn again, and can only hope the other Country Inns are 1/2 as good as this one was to us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Condolences on the passing of your loved one. I am proud that our staff was there to accomodate your family during this time of need. Hope to see you again soon under happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Good, clean, solid hotel with excellent value. Only a short distance form Penn State and Downtown State College. Nothing too fancy just a good place to stay. The pool was a plus at this price point. Its a bit small but worked out well for kids and adults.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great stay! Went overnight (non-football weekend). Clean, attractive, friendly staff, good pool & exercise equipment, amply room for breakfast - real silverware, plates & cups were a plus & food was good. Bed & pillow were comfy.. room fan was quiet and fan in bathroom kept it from fogging with showers. Good towels. Only downside - tub is slippery and could use a shelf part way up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelwith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thanks for your great review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have a great team here and look forward to any comments you have about your stay. We are working on solving the problem you mentioned. Next time you stay, please ask the front desk staff for a rubbermaid bath mat for your tub. We will be happy to provide one for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here on a visit recent to Penn State. The hotel is great for a family with different bed/wake up times as the rooms are suites with a door in between. It is very new, clean, conveniently located to Penn State, offers a great breakfast and free wi fi. There is even a workout room, pool and hot tub if you are interested.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your business. Please consider staying with us on your next visit. "We Are"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my first time at this hotel and for the price, you certainly got a lot of value. The staff is super friendly--they all seem to be happy to be working there! I was given a little welcome gift for having joined Club Carlson, which was really nice. There was a cookie jar that always had cookies in it as well as coffee/such available. The lobby looks like you walked into a home where there is a fireplace and a whole lot of books that you can enjoy while you visit. When we made our reservations we were given the option of an upgrade to a queen suite if available for just and extra $10/night. It turned out that it was available and it worked out great to have a bedroom and living room with a TV in both rooms. The queen beds were very comfortable as well as the pillows. The bathroom was a good size, nice shower, good quality soap/shampoo and everything was very clean. The living room had a sofa and chair as well as a desk/chair and there was plenty of good lighting for the area you needed it. There was also a fridge and microwave and all the usual amenities one would expect in a hotel room. There was even 2 closets. Wi-fi and domestic long distance phone calls were all included. Breakfast was also included (which included quite a variety i.e. waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, cereal and all kinds of topping for things, breads, donuts, etc. etc. etc.) And the breakfast room was quite large. Often these places are so small you keep bumping into people when you move your chair but there was plenty of room to move here. There were two computers and a printer in the business room. There is a very nice workout room, as well as a pool and jacuzzi which allows quite a bit of light in there. I am trying to find something I could complain about--my only complaint is I wish I could have had a reason to stay more than just two nights. I will certainly wish to return to this hotel when I go to State College in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you had such a great stay. Please come back and see us soon. You don't need a reason. How about a getaway weekend this winter. Swim and watch the snow fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
550 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
787 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
127 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing